To the finish line!

A girl with goals!

I have always been a goal oriented person. I feel that it keeps me motivated and in it for the long haul if I can see the finish line. Therefore I have broken down my goal of running a marathon in one year into segments. My running journey has only just began and I am literally taking it one step at a time.

As I have recently surpassed a mini milestone in my running bucket list, so to speak, I thought it would be a good time to take a look back at the progress and personal accomplishments I have made.

Run girl run! You can do it!!

Race Re-Caps:

May, 2009: Race For The Cure,
Time: 31:32
My first race ever, first 5k!

June, 2009: See Jane Run’s I Run For Chocolate & Champagne 5k,
Time: 23:41 (Obviously I was running for the chocolate & champagne!)
They mis-routed the race and we were cut short by almost a 3/4 of a mile. I was starting to have a heart attack thinking I ran it at 7-something minute pace! It was still a good fun run though, and all the goodies were definitely a plus!

The Linz & Paige rockin’ our race numbers after our race!

September, 2009: St. Luke’s Women’s Fitness Celebration 5k,
Time: 30:59
This race was a challenge as there was a hill involved, but it was also amazing as there were thousands & thousands of other women running beside me. Not to mention my friend Paige, the one who got me started on this crazy running obsession.

October 2009, Barber to Boise 10k,
Time: 61:43
My first 10k race!

Full Race Recap: As B2B was my first 10k and one big check mark off my running list I must admit I was nervous. I had been training for the race, but was never able to get up to the mileage I was supposed to. I think the farthest I had run was maybe 5 miles or close to that, but only on one or two occasions. To think my feet were going to run farther than they ever had all at once was frightening.

I was mixed with emotion when I hit the 4 mile point. Not to mention I was being completely passed by an eight year old, but I realized I was on a familiar path. It was the path I have been running all summer. This familiar stretch of green belt gave me a boost of energy and kept me going until I reached finished line.

It was a great feeling to know that I accomplished this goal of running a 10k. My mom always said “You can do anything you set your mind to!” – Thanks Mom! I am one run closer to being a marathoner!

J. Alabama & I before the B2B race!

What’s in store ahead for the marathoner-in-training?

December 2009: YMCA Christmas Run 5k & 10k
I originally planned on doing the 10k, but I’m a little worried about seriously running in the snow. So the 5k/10k decision is still up in the air.

March 2010: St. Patty’s 5k
April 2010: Beat Coach Pete 5k
May 2010: Race For The Cure 5k

June 2010: Sawtooth Relay (each leg is about 5 miles and I will run two legs)
June 2010: SJR’s I Run For Chocolate & Champagne Half Marathon
These two race weekends are literally back to back, but I want to do both! So I will have to see how I feel!

**October 2010: Nike Women’s Challenge MARATHON!** – San Francisco

So basically, I decided that I am motivated by a good race!

What are your fitness goals? Do you have any future races you are training for?

Leave a Reply

