Motivated?

Sometimes the hardest thing for me to do is to lace up my running shoes and hit the trail. It’s not that I don’t want to do it, it’s just a matter of getting one foot out the door. I know that I will feel better once I have accomplished a run, no matter how short or far. I have come across a few things that have helped me over the last few months and maybe they will help you.

Tip 1: Get a running buddy or join a running group
I have noticed that at times when I wanted to just take the night off I didn’t feel so compelled to when someone was relying on me. The buddy/group always gives me a reason to get out there because they need me too.

And this tip will work for just about anything! Paige & I will motivate eachother to go to our 6:00am spin class, and folks that is just too early sometimes.

Tip 2: Music/Podcasts
Usually a good playlist on the i-pod can get me through just about anything. I use the songs to pump me up at the beginning and to keep me racing until the end. And this comes in handy for those days where a running buddy is just not feasible.

The podcasts are great too because they can be used like a trainer. Someone talking into your ear telling you what to do, and that you can do it!

Tip 3: Nike Plus/Garmin/Stop watch
Tracking your distance and times is the greatest! I am usually motivated to go just a little bit farther or faster than the last time, because I am tracking my results I know what my goals are.

The Nike Plus is what I use. It’s a little piece of plastic that attaches to your i-pod, and a little piece that is hooked on your shoe. The two pieces communicate to eachother showing on your i-pod your distance, speed & time. You are also able to set this gadget to a specified distance, so if you don’t have a route in mind you can run freely knowing it will tell you when you have reached 1 mile, 2 miles…etc.

The coolest part is you hook your i-pod into your computer after your run and all the information is uploaded onto the Nike Plus website. Here you can track all your miles! This by far has been my biggest motivator! Oh yeah, and you can buy the Nikeplus at most running stores and it only costs around $30.00. Best $30.00 I have ever spent!

Tip 4: Goals/Race
Deciding what my end goal is has really kept me going. I started by picking The Race for the Cure 5k. I hadn’t ever ran a race before and had no idea what to expect, but thought there is no way to know without giving it a good try.

Picking this race gave me incentive to train my body for it. I joined a 6 week running group that helped me prepare and gave me guidance on when I should be running and for how long & far.

Having an end goal kept me motivated throughout the process. Hence why I now have a huge goal of a marathon in my future. All my goals now are just smaller ones that will eventually lead up to the major goal.

Tip 5: Celebrate!
YAY! I like the idea of accomplishing something so I can then celebrate afterwards! And this can be a nice glass of vino or even just a day or two to rest your body after a big race. We all know that I WILL RUN FOR WINE!

What motivates you?

Leave a Reply

