Thankful Thursday

With Thanksgiving just around the corner I am constantly thinking of what I am grateful for in my life. I have had quite the amazing year and have SO many things to be thankful for. A biggie is the love and support of my family. Though they may not understand why I would EVER want to run 26.2 miles they are there rooting me on the entire way, along with every other life goal I have. They are my best supporters and I have to say thank you for ALWAYS believing in me!

My little brother, me, mom & dad! We were on a bike tour together.

To recap my day…

Kick. Punch. Kick. Punch. Shuffle..shuffle.. shuffle.. shuffle..

I just finished up Body Combat my FAVORITE group exercise class at the gym. I have been attending kickboxing type classes since I was in high school and have always held a special place in my heart for them. Some gyms offer the bags where you can actually punch out your frustrations, but the one I attend gives the opportunity to visualize your punching bag, (aka punching the air).

I find that exercise classes at the gym give you a different kind of workout than what you would do on your own. For me I am pushed to work out for 60 minutes without wimping out. The spirited instructors bouncing around with high intensity and enthusiasm help to get you jacked up and into the work out.

I am a runner now, but there is nothing I love more than a good kick/punch session at the gym! So I like to incorporate at least one day of non-running cardio into my weekly workouts. It helps for a change of scenery and motivation.


Speaking of running, The Pile On The Mile Challenge (POTMC) is still under way. I have 6.8 miles clocked in to date. And a goal to run 50 miles by Thanksgiving and 57 miles by the end of November. Now that I have my NikePlus I am mile tracking fool!

5 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday

  1. Good luck with the piling on the miles — that's quite a challenge! I got a Garmin for my birthday so I'm a tracking fool now myself 🙂

  2. Oh how I used to love BodyCombat, and BodyPump and BodyFlow. My gym back in MI before I moved had those classes and that is what got me started on the fitness train. I wish I could find them out here!

  3. Wow good luck with the challenge!! That's a lot of miles, but I am a beginning runner so 4 miles is a lot to me! Do you know what marathon you are going to run?

Leave a Reply

