Just Do It!


The beauty I witnessed on my adventure today!

I woke up this morning with the urge to workout. I was just going to hit the gym, as I was resisting the green belt run due to the lack of motivation of running it alone. But some words of encouragement were staring me right in the face. I read Gina’s blog today and it gave me motivation to overcome whatever it was that seemed to be holding me back.

Whether it be the lack of a running partner, the cold brisk air outside, the 4 mile route that I had never ran before or just the idea of running in general, I knew whatever it was needed to be conquered.

So I called J. Alabama (the boyfriend who refuses to let me use his real name) for the last little bit of motivation. He told me that he thought I should try to run it in 36 minutes because he knows I like challenges.

Now I know what a Christmas tree feels like – do I have enough attachments? Seriously?

So I set off to get this run done and over with. I just started running and running and running. I wasn’t sure how fast I was going but could tell my breathing was harder than normal and I was struggling a bit. I didn’t dare look at my pace in case I was really sucking.

I had picked a different route to give it a try and wasn’t sure the mileage. Luckily my NikePlus talks into my ear every mile I go! So after a while the voice finally reported that I had hit 4 miles! And I was happy to say I almost made the goal time!

Running Stats:
Distance: 4 miles
Time: 38.42 (pretty close!)

What I took from this exercise is to not let your negative thoughts hold you back. I knew I could do it, but was trying to find excuses why I should bail on myself. Of course going to the gym would have been easy and safe, but I would not have experienced what I did today.

Good job self, for being awesome today!

2 thoughts on “Just Do It!

  1. Great job on the run and the awesome time, and what an amazing view from your route!! I'm a LONG ways away from any sub 10-minute miles, so I'm quite jealous 🙂

  2. Good for you! I don't know why it's so scary sometimes or why we try to talk ourselves out of it, but I am glad you found motivation!

Leave a Reply

