Looking back…reflections on a year past

Today is my one year anniversary at my current job.

A co-worker & I started on the same day exactly one year ago and our fellow co-workers thought they would celebrate by decorating our office.

Aren’t they so sweet? 🙂

Yes, it was a tp war zone when I waltzed into my office this morning. Though all day long it has put me into a sort of weird mood, (not the tp-ing of the office), but that I just can’t help but thinking of myself a year ago.

October, 2008


October, 2009

A look over a year gone by and how far I have come….

I remember I had dubbed the year 2008 as 2000-great to all my friends. I have to admit there was not a whole lot of great until November time, but I will get to that in a minute.

Let’s start in October of 2008 (not so great yet). This was when I finally decided that my health needed to come first. I was tired and sad all the time and didn’t want to do anything but sleep. I was frustrated with every aspect of my life and weighed in more than I ever had before. But I was committed to getting my health on, and started the motions.

Then along came November. It was then I received the call offering me a position at my current place of employment. It was the GREATest news because it was in my field of expertise. My many years achieving a Bachelors in Communication was going to be put into action. (This excited me).

A new year, A new life…
I am a girl of many Mantra’s, so naturally dubbed 2009 as “Time to shine in 2009”. And the year started off with Paige & I signing up for Golds Gym “Body Challenge”. A 14 week, Biggest Loser type of thing.

I lost 7 pounds. Not a huge victory, but a little bit of hope and little more motivation that I could achieve my weight loss goals.

My confidence started to come back and I had more energy. I signed up for my first 5k.


Then there was FitClubBootCamp. I had heard about this early morning bootcamp and had to give it a try. I was running laps while carrying car tires in each hand, running up and down bleachers, doing bear crawls around a track, and running my fastest mile ever (8:32) by the end of it.

Another 7 pounds gone. Poof, just like that.

I felt so strong and so great and ready to take on yet another challenge. As you can tell I am challenge oriented person. That is when I decided that a 10k would naturally be the next step, so I began to focus my energy on that.

While I was training for my 10k, it clicked – if I could run 6 miles, I could run 26. Ah ha, the marathon idea came into focus.

Which is what sparked the idea for starting a running group, and The Will Run For Wine Running group was born. And now I have several ladies who want to run with me atleast 3x per week.

A year ago I was unhappy about my body appearance, I was unmotivated and had no energy. A 5k would have felt like a marathon back then. It took hard work and commitment to keep myself off the couch and in the gym. But to see the personal break throughs I have made, a 5k & 10K under my belt, an 18lb weight loss and a goal that will keep me going through 2010 puts a huge smile on my face.

It didn’t happen over night, it was a daily, weekly, monthly effort. That is why today I am going to recommit myself to my goals of next year. I am going to look forward and share what I will have accomplished in a year from now.

“Doing it again in 2010”. (As in accomplishing my goals)

Goals:Run in a relay race (2 5mile legs in the mountain terrain)
Run a Half Marathon
Run The Nike Marathon in San Fran
Lose 23 more pounds
Inspire others on their fitness journey

7 thoughts on “Looking back…reflections on a year past

  1. I love that you started a running group (and love that you run for wine!!!) I think it would keep me motivated if I had people relying on me. My plan was to join one next spring and train until then so that I could actually keep up. But maybe it would be better to start sooner rather than later!

  2. What an AMAZING year you've had — good for you, Linz!!! I'm sure you'll accomplish all of your goals in '09-'10 — including the SF marathon — holy hills! 🙂

  3. What an inspiring look back at the year. I love your yearly mantras. Congratulations on all of your work last year and your great goals for next year. The Nike Marathon in San Fran sounds like so much fun!

  4. Love the name of ur group.I have a running friend, but she is super fast and we only run once a week together (or used to when i was in training)ur group looks lovely! Congrats on all your hard work, to u and ur group mates

Leave a Reply

