The Power of a Vision

Having a vision or a goal has always been important to defining my path. I feel lost without it and use it to motivate and keep me on track.

Once a year my family and I get together and do a goal brainstorm session. It’s always been a positive way to gather our thoughts and really think about what we want our future to look like. It’s a time to set goals and even recognize progress we have made. *Warm fuzzies*

The first year in which we embarked on our vision board project I had no idea how powerful it would be. I just cut out pretty pictures and words I liked. When we were all done we were supposed to share our visions.

Mine had a athletic looking girl who was running through a neighborhood. I liked her because she resembled me looking fit. (Two years ago I was not working out and was not healthy, this girl was my healthy fit vision of me).

This past September the family wanted to get together and reflect upon our old vision boards and make new ones for the 2009-2010 year. So I pulled out my old vision board and was surprised at how it sort of told the future.

The fit looking girl was a runner! Yes, running with determination on her face. This girl was ME! I was stunned. When I made the vision board I just wanted to get healthy and in shape. I had never even thought about running, let alone running races or even a marathon.

Pretty crazy huh?

Well, the above picture is actually my vision board for this year. I liked the idea & picture of the running girl so much that I cut her out of the old vision and put her into my new vision board.

The other part I really like is the YOU vs YOU saying. It totally is ME vs ME. I am the only one who can make this happen. I am the only one holding me back. But not anymore. I am going to prove to myself that I can do this. I can lose 20 more lbs and I can run a marathon and nothing or no one is going to stand in my way!

I love this project so much and suggest anyone to do it. It really helps to put your vision into something you can see. It’s nice to be able to pull it out at anytime to reference your progress too. And with the new year upon us is a great new years resolutiony thing to do. Create your 2010!

And you just never know how powerful your vision is. Sometimes it takes you above & beyond your minimal goals. So watch out!! Marathoner coming through! (Seriously, I had never in my life thought about running long distances.) Who knew that Destination 26.2 would be my vision?

4 thoughts on “The Power of a Vision

  1. u r amazing!good job on the board. u have to see what you want and believe in urself and anything can happen.i really like when u wrote that the only thing or person holding you back is you. that is soooo true!I never thought i could run a mile, let alone a half marathon or a marathon. i actually had someone tell me that if i run a marathon, i can die!that is ridiculous. we are all gonna die one day. why not make the most of what we are doing now!!!!inspiring post!!!!!

  2. Like 'Wayne Dyer' says in this book, "You'll See it When You Believe it," we can direct our our destiny by just tapping into our own power from within! Vision On!!!

Leave a Reply

