A Christmas Re-cap

I hope everyone had a great holiday! I know I sure did. There was an abundance of family, food & fun. The only thing that was truly lacking was the running, oops! I was able to squeeze in a little shredding action on Christmas eve and today. Our Christmas went as follows….

There was some of this.

It is Christmas tradition that my dad and I make lasagna for the entire family for Christmas Eve dinner. We are Italian and we take this job very seriously! So the key to having the best lasagna ever is “wine at nine”. Yes, you heard me. The lasagna tastes better with a little wine in our systems. So as you can barely read in the picture above we had our first drink at 9:59 am. We almost didn’t make it!

And lots of this.

Well this is not lasagna, but it was really delicious. Playing cook all day really works up an appetite. So we made our new favorite treat, un-stuffed mushroom’s.

The grocery store was out of regular full mushrooms so we ended up buying sliced portabello’s and pre-sliced mushrooms and lightly sauteing them and topping them with goodies -a little left over sausage from the lasagna, some celery, sprinkle of Parmesan and cooked in a bit of sherry. AH-MAZ-ING! πŸ™‚

So I also sported the mini-Bronco tree!

The tree is blue and the lights are orange (BSU’s colors!). Boise State Broncos will play in the Fiesta Bowl this year on January 4th and I hoping the tree brings them luck. The last time I rocked the bronco tree they won the Fiesta Bowl and that was 2007. So here’s hoping!

People started arriving and Mom got her christmas attire on. Isn’t she cute?

My grampa was wearing his new mobster-esque hat. He looked good!

And grama was looking super cute too!

As mentioned before, there was tons of food. I still can’t believe I didn’t take a single picture of any of it. The best family you could ever ask for! And tons of fun. We played JENGA together. It’s been years since I have played that game!

I did also have the stinging reminder of The 30 Day Shred level 3 in my quads all day. I am not kidding when I say you can feel the burn in level 3. There are planks, and plank-jacks (you are in plank position combined with jumping jacks), scissor sit-ups, lunge jumps, and sumo jumps. The intensity is there and YOU WILL FEEL IT THE NEXT DAY! So due to a few unanticipated days off last week I may be extending my 30 day shred challenge a few days longer. I am afraid my awesome results from last week may have co-mingled with the food & wine induldance had at ALL my christmas activities and left me at square one.

I will be back tomorrow to give a full report on the special running items left from santa! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “A Christmas Re-cap

  1. looks like u had a very nice christmas break!!!lasagna sounds soooo good. and wine at 9:59 am never hurt anyone. isnt a little red wine good for the heart? lol

  2. Pingback: Tipsy Thursday « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

