Pa-PIE-ahhh

Does anyone else ever get their second wind at oh, say 11:00 pm? Well, well, well, I sure did last night. I think it was the papaya post that was looming over me, I couldn’t sleep. Aneta and I picked this glorious fruit to report on this week and I just wasn’t sure about it at first.

I mean, look at this thing!

I know I have had papaya before, but I couldn’t remember if I liked it or not. So this was a good excuse to buy one and give it a review. I also thought papayas were smaller like mangos. But no, this baby weighed something over 3 pounds. I tried to find the smallest one because I wasn’t sure if I was going to like it and well it was like $1.00 something per pound!


I am trying to figure out what to with all this fruit… did someone say pa-pie-ahh? Yep, I’m turning this baby into a pie, because seriously there is just too much papaya for one person.

So let’s cut this beast open already!

Once you cut it in half, you must scoop out the seeds. Haven’t you always wondered what the inside of a papaya looked like?

Since I am using the fruit in my pie, I chose to cut off the outer skin. Which was super to ease to remove with a knife.

Then you slice into pieces or cubes (for the pie) and enjoy!

So the aftermath…tasted similarly to a melon to me. And I hate to say it but I am soooo not a fan of melon. It’s not as pungent but there is a little melony taste lingering. I did enjoy the soft texture of the fruit though.

The pa-pie-ahh recipe has a better chance I think.

What you need to make Pa-Pie-Ahh:
– half of papaya cubed
– 1/2 cup melted butter
– 3/4 cup oatmeal
– 1 cup flour
– 1/2 cup brown sugar
– 1 tsp cinnamon
– 1/2 tsp ginger
– 1/2 tsp salt
1 pie crust

Basically just mix all the ingredients except the papaya in a bowl. Once mixed thoroughly put 1/3 of mixture in the bottom of pie crust.

I mixed 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract into the papaya cubes before pouring them into the pie crust. Then top the papaya with the remaining mixture from bowl and bake at 350 for 35 minutes.

Holy Yum! Okay so the end result is that the papaya taste is very very mellow in the pa-pie-ahh. But fresh out of the oven and mixed with the yummy mixture it tastes like a cobbler. Mmmm Mmmm… And it was SOOOOO easy to make.

Any suggestions on what to do with the other half of the papaya? I just don’t think I can stomach eating it alone. But I didn’t mind it mixed up in the cobbler pie! Also don’t forget to head over to Aneta’s for her take on this freakishly huge fruit.

13 thoughts on “Pa-PIE-ahhh

  1. DUDE Linz that thing is gnarly. I thought they were the size of peaches or apples! Man was I off. I am like you and I don't like melon. Not just melon anything in the melon family(cantaloupe watermelon honeydew YUCK). I am not going to lie though your Pa0Pie-ahh looks bom dot com. Maybe you can make some smoothies with the rest! Mix it with some other fruits and stuff.

  2. Add the Papaya to your morning smoothie! Remember in Peru when they made the papaya fruities for us for breakfast! It will go very well with your protein drink!

  3. seems like we have similar likes and dislikes.wow a pie!!!! good stuff. that is incredible!i might try my papaya in my green monster! ok im off. have a good and nite! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!! 🙂

  4. LOL! I love the pic with you and the papaya! I actually saw some cut up at the store the other day (cut in half with the seeds). I have never seen the inside before and thought it was neat looking!Maybe make a fruit salad with the rest? All the different fruits will soak up each others flavors. Nom!

  5. I personally love papaya, but my husband hates it! However, blended in a smoothie with other fruit, the taste that makes a lot of people hate it makes it totally tasty!

  6. The pie looks delish! :)And (in answer to your previous post) the people at the running store had me go up 1/2 size for my shoes but I think different brands fit differently.

  7. Meh, I am not really a papaya person. I find it bland actually. If you haven't used it, you could freeze it in chunks and smoothie it.

  8. Pingback: Fruity Friday: The Super STAR Edition « Destination 26.2

Leave a Reply

