Just me and the mill

Last night I embarked on a solo run. It was the lonely treadmill and I. After a few moments of running in silence trying to find my groove I ended up plugging in my ear phones and zoned into The Bachelor for a bit until I couldn’t stand it anymore.

Immediately thoughts started popping into my head. Darn! I instantly thought of Kim at iLaxStudio. A few days ago she said that she usually keeps a pad of paper and pen at her treadmill just for these moments. I tried to remember whatever it was I thought was so interesting at the time, but as I fell into the rythm of the treadmill all thoughts were lost.

But then around mile 2 another thought hit me… I am currently reading “Runner’s World’s Complete Book of Women’s Running” by Dagny Scott Barrios.

I just finished chapter 6 which opens up the question on When do you decide to call yourself a jogger or runner? Because to a lot of people this is a big deal. I know it is for me.

I was thinking about this question as I was huffing and puffing my way through mile 2. Does running on a treadmill make me a runner? Does running in a race make me a runner?

I personally have never even thought about labeling myself a jogger. I think of joggers as those who go out in their sweat pants, maybe with a dog on a leash just breezing by without a care in the world.

I think of runners as the intense ones. The ones who have that look of determination and focus. They may not be running fast but they are in the zone and are running with their hearts.

Now I am noone to judge the difference between a jogger and a runner. Hell, people probably pass by me and label me a ‘jogger’. Whatever, they can call me whatever they want.

I think the important thing is what you call yourself. I have never once called myself anything other than a runner. Because ulitmately that is what I am and what I strive to be.

I run in races. I will run in many more races. I may have only clocked in my longest run at 6 miles but to me that is success. Some may have only a 5k under their belts, but to them that is a running achievement.

So as I finished up my 3 mile run with the mill I decided that as long as my feet are litteraly moving toward my goal of running in a marathon then I am a runner.

What are your thoughts on runners vs joggers?
I am curious to hear what you call yourself and why.

10 thoughts on “Just me and the mill

  1. Love this post! When I started I considered myself a jogger, based upon stereotypes in my head… I wasn't fast enough to be considered a runner, wasn't hardcore enough, wasn't accomplished enough, etc. Since evolving into a runner- which I always was, even from the beginning, so I guess I should say since evolving to view myself as a runner- I definitely look at things differently and share your views. It doesn't matter how fast you are going- if your heart is in it, you are a runner!

  2. i dont like the word jogger. its funny! it reminds me of that quote from Anchorman "Oop… I almost forgot. I won't be able to make it fellas. Veronica and I trying this new fad called uh, jogging. I believe it's jogging or yogging. it might be a soft j. I'm not sure but apparently you just run for an extended period of time. It's supposed to be wild."i like being called a runner!i think you can be what you wanna be. If you think of yourself as a runner, then you are a runner. If you think of yourself as a jogger, then you are a jogger.Maybe we are all ruggers or jonners???lol

  3. Morgan (Redhead Running) recently sent me that book and I can't WAIT to crack it open.Personally, I think runners are the ones running with PURPOSE.

  4. Thanks for the link! I always thought the runners vs. joggers thing was all about the speed you are running… at least, that is how I thought people defined it. For me though, I have always felt like a runner!P.S. Have people ever said anything to you about getting a virus by looking at your site? I just came here and now my computer is popping up all these virus warnings, and I think it happened before and I had to reformat my other computer. Just wondered 😉

  5. I never thought of myself as a jogger but I guess I am considering the fact that I can't seem to run faster than an 11 minute mile! But jogging seems less intense to me. And when I run, I feel pretty intense! 🙂

  6. Such an interesting topic!

    I personally have never even thought about labeling myself a jogger. I think of joggers as those who go out in their sweat pants, maybe with a dog on a leash just breezing by without a care in the world.

    I think of runners as the intense ones. The ones who have that look of determination and focus. They may not be running fast but they are in the zone and are running with their hearts.

    I couldn’t agree with you more. Very well said.

  7. That looks like a fun read! When you're done, let us know if you'd recommend it! I haven't thought much about the running vs jogging question. I like your take on it. It's good food for thought!

  8. Interesting post!! I never did either but never thought of them as being two different things. If you are "jogging" does that mean you are running slow? I never really thought about what the difference actually is. I guess people that are "hard core runners" might think otherwise. The fact that i ran a 5K is a huge accomplishment for me and now that i run on a regular basis, i dont care what people call it. You run/jog your little heart out! You can call yourself a marathon runner. Marathon jogger just sounds strange!

  9. I know this is old…but I love this post! I’ve often struggled with when I can call myself a runner. When I used to run with a group, our coach always told us that as long as you have just one foot on the ground at a time then you are a runner. I try to abide by that 😉

Leave a Reply

