Swimba

 

My (work)  life has been pretty intense lately. I have been coming in early and working late.

When life gets busy are your workouts the first thing to go?

Guilty…  Well, I used to be. I mean who has time and energy to work out after a 10+ hour day? But sometimes having just one more thing on my checklist helps. I work better under pressure. 🙂

I found that the best retreat for my mental and physical being is to (literally) drag myself to the gym. Obviously I had to help a girl out and be one step ahead of myself. That means packing a workout bag that would fit every possible occasion. You know what I mean, running shoes & clothes, regular workout clothes in case the mood strikes to hit a spin class or something, swim suit, etc.

The key to success is to set yourself up to win. Sometimes that looks like a crazy gym bag prepared for a weeks worth of workouts.

So I had actually planned to work a little late at work, go straight to the gym to hit up the dreadmill and then meet up with my dear mother for a yoga class. Well the night didn’t go as mentally planned, but luckily I was flexible and prepared for any occasion. Plans turned from running and yoga-ing, to Zumba & Swimming!

My mom has never taken the Zumba class and was super excited after reading about my last review. We were ready to shake those hips!

I just love the energy you feel in the Zumba class. There is all types of music played and some songs are fast and slow. You shake your hips a bit, you do some gangsta moves, and then you even find yourself clubbing it up on a monday night! Still takes me a minute to realize I am in a gym when I am shaking that booty. Crazy!

After an hour of sweating, shaking, twisting, and moving all around we were tired! And decided to head on down to the hot tub.

That lasted about 5 minutes before I was TOO hot. So I decided it was time to get into the pool. And let me just say I am not a pool girl. I don’t like to swim. And I actually never swim as a form of excercise. But I thought I might as well give it a try.

I did a few laps back and forth until I decided I was done. Then my mom gave it try. It’s definitely harder than it looks! We also did a move I saw the Biggest Loser contestants doing a few weeks back. We held on to the side of the pool and kicked our legs for a minute straight as hard as we could. We were going to try for 2 minutes, but our legs were pretty sore after Zumba!

As we were heading out of the locker the room I reached for my flip flops. Because I was “prepared” and brought after workout shoes. (Told you I had everything in my bag o tricks!)

Some how I brought two left shoes. Nice one.  🙂

After my lovely workout I went home and felt instantly AMAZING. I was so happy that I took the extra time to go to the gym even though I could have easily curled up on the couch watching nonsense television.

My body was happy. My mind was happy. I know that working out has helped me through these long few weeks at my job. I have tons of energy (not coffee or RedBull induced). And my mood is pretty darn good.

So maybe just adding one more thing to my do list is a good thing.

9 thoughts on “Swimba

  1. Swimba…. hehehe. I haven’t tried a Zumba class, but one of my aerobics instructors likes to incorporate some of the moves into our warm-up. I think I’d enjoy it more if I were a little more coordinated. Sounds like you and Mom had fun, though!

  2. 2 left shoes! hhahah. thats funny!
    and yay for swimba – thats awesome!!!! that is a great combination.

    and i see that your website is getting better and better! very nice!

    im not big on swimming. actually i never was in the past. i dont know now. maybe i should try it! hmmmmm, something to think about. thnx!!!

  3. How cool that you got to work out with your mom! I have heard a lot of great things about Zumba. It sounds like something I would like.

    I hope to start swimming someday! I think it would be great for cross-training, or a tri 🙂

    I try to make workouts NOT the first thing to go when I get busy. I wrote a somewhat related post for tomorrow, but I think we should PUT OURSELVES FIRST! And that means working out 😉

  4. I have heard a lot about Zumba classes but haven’t given it a try. I used to workout with my mom in the old days when I lived at home.

    When I am busy I try to cut on other things than my workout… the workout is for me and my health so it is more important other things.. but there have been times that I have had to give it up.

  5. Pingback: Embracing the Beasts « Destination 26.2

  6. Loved the Zumba / Swimba Linz…and the funniest part, besides us shaking our bodies and doing moves like we were performing for a high energy drink commerical, lol, was the two left size 8 flip flops. Sorry…but that was FUNNY!!!!!!!! Love you, Mom

  7. Pingback: Shish-ka-rita « Destination 26.2

Leave a Reply

