Run Injury Free

 

Last night was another meeting of the Will Run For Wine Running group. Gosh, how I love meeting the group.

So confession time, I hadn’t done a single physical activity since friday and was really feeling sluggish yesterday. I somehow let almost 5 full days go by without hitting the gym or running or even shredding it up.  Ugghh… so that made it that much harder to want to run last night. But when I realized that people would be there to run with and they were counting on me (or so I tell myself for motivation) I slipped on my running gear and sort of drag myself to our meeting point.

Once my feet began hitting the pavement I knew it was going to be alright. We pounded out about 3.25 miles for a nice getting back into it run. We have plans to meet up again Friday, so by then I will be back in the game. I find the only way to get yourself out of the workout funk is to just jump right back in. 

What do you do to get over the workout funk?

 

It seems I have been a bit preoccupied by watching the Olympics these days, anyone else? I am loving it! Anyways, before watching the awesome male figure skaters on tuesday night I attended a free clinic on “How to Prevent Running Injuries and Improve Running Performance”.  As a somewhat new runner I figured any advice was good advice since I have yet *knock on wood* really gotten a running injury.

The Physical therapist reported that most running injuries are caused due to:

1: Excessive increase in training routine (adding excessive distance or speed too quickly in training)

2: Altered training terraine (hills/sprints)

3: Dramatic change in shoe style

Ways to overcome these issues:

1: Follow the 10% rule –

Now I have heard of the 10% rule, but never actually realized the importance of it. To avoid injury it’s best to only add 10% increase in distance or speed per week. When trying to do both you could over do it, or by trying to do too much too fast (adding tons of extra miles or trying to cut way too much time from your runs).

2: Spend extra time warming up

This is especially important when doing work on hills and/sprinting drills. It was suggested that studies are showing people are bec0ming less injured by actually jumping into their runs or doing some warm-ups such as skipping, then doing a few stretches. The bulk of stretching should be done after the workout. (Now this was suggested based on studies done and realize I am not a doctor, just passing along some information I thought was interesting).

3: Good Technique/Good Posture

He suggested trying to shorten strides as longer strides tend to have a hard heel strike by the foot. By lessening the hard heel strike you can avoid injury. Which is what all the hype regarding Barefoot Running is all about. By running barefoot you are actually forced to run differently which naturally makes you run more on the balls of your feet. For more information regarding the Heel strike check out Run To The Border‘s blog, he actually explained it yesterday with pictures. Very interesting!!!

For acute injuries the RICE method is recommended.

R – Rest (take a few days off to let your body rest so not to further injure yourself)

I – Ice (ice it up, this helps reduce the inflamation)

C – Compression (put pressure on it)

E – Elevation

Now it may seem like a lot of this is pretty common knowledge, but I found it to be a good reminder. I am still really excited to learn how running can help me and how to do it for as long as possible (i.e without injury). 

 I hope these tips helped you and if you have any of your own to share please leave them in the comments section.  🙂

5 thoughts on “Run Injury Free

  1. Definitely getting caught up in the Olympics and all that GOLD!!! Love Shaun White and Lindsey Vonn just kicked butt last night. It’s incredible how close it can get, and then there will be a crash, and your dreams are gone, for that moment at least. Good stuff!

  2. I’m with you — I have to dive right back into exercising if I’ve missed a few days/weeks! 🙂

    Oh, and I totally agree with the long warmup tip! I ran the Philly Distance Run (half-marathon) in 2008, and the official race hotel was a little over a mile from the start. My friends and I ran there as a warmup, got nice and loose, and as a result I ran my best race to date!

  3. i always follow the RICE method! i think it works and its so easy.
    its ok to miss a few days. i have those all the time. i started out really strong this year and its just slowly decreasing. but its ok!
    u’ll get back into it.
    when is ur first race?
    have u made a race calendar? i cant remember.
    have u done a training schedule yet?

    happy happy weekend! enjoy!

Leave a Reply

