Waiting it out

 

I was definitely hesitant and not mentally ready to take the night off from my normally schedule workouts, but did it because I knew it was the best thing to do. It took a lot of reflecting and debating, but it didn’t quite click until I read yesterday’s blog posting from Angela at Oh She Glows . That was my sign that my intuition knew better, and if I have any chance at running on Saturday, I need to give it a break. She explained the importance of TRUSTING your body and not second guessing yourself. I don’t want to injure myself badly in the end.

I narrowed the issue of why it was so hard to give myself a break down to  two things.

1. I am used to doing my workouts in the evening after work so have accustomed my schedule to that. (My group runs and favorite cardio kickboxing classes are all at night) Also I look forward to that physical release after a long day of work.

2. I am motivated and ready to make some physical changes in my life.

Now, I have two goals ultimately that I am trying to achieve. One being getting my body to a place where I feel good and comfortable about myself. Two being continue improving on my running. Both of which are achievable. I think the big thing is to not injure myself in the process. So if taking last night and this morning off are the way to do it then I’m doing it.

Here is how I spent the evening last night:

The first thing I did when I got home was take a nice warm Epsom salt bath.  I use the lavender scented kind because it makes my whole house smell amazing and it’s soooo relaxing. ( My muscles felt a bit better after this)

 

After that I decided I was hungry and wanted to tweek a recipe I saw Caitlin at Healthy Tipping Point make just a few days ago. 

Mini Quiches!

My Quiche included asparagus (1/2 cup), mushrooms (1/2 cup), spinach (a few handfuls), cheddar cheese (1/4 cup) and 4 eggs.

I cut a bunch of asparagus stems and mushrooms  into little pieces and sautéed them in a bit of garlic. I then threw a few handfuls of spinach into the hot pan until it became soggy. I threw all of this into a bowl and mixed it up with the cheese and eggs. Then poured them into a greased muffin tin and cooked on 350 degrees for about 30-35 minutes.

Holy Yumm-o! I ate a few for dinner and they were tasty. But then re-heated a few for breakfast this morning and was even more impressed. This one’s a keeper!

After getting in a few laughs watching  The Office & 30 Rock decided it was time for bed. But not before I put a little stir fry and steamed potatoes to good use. I iced my knees and re-read the January issue of Runner’s World for some motivation for Saturday’s run.

Today the muscles felt a lot better. I am definitely walking a little more normally. But will continue to ice them on and off today. I am just going to take care of me today. I will be back on monday with a full report and the fruity friday post that was promised. Ooops! 🙂

Have a great weekend everyone and good luck to all of you who also have races this weekend!

10 thoughts on “Waiting it out

  1. Yum, I saw those mini quiche on her blog too…now I have to try them, they look so good! And if they reheat well, thats a huge bonus!

    I didn’t know they made Lavendar epsom salt…I will have to keep an eye out for that! Good luck on your race:)

  2. love epsom salts. they are the best for sore muscles.
    and yes, if u need rest, take it! u can work out another time. no need to stress ur body and wear it out!

    have a great weekend!

  3. I have a really hard time taking rest days too. I have been trying to be more in tune with my body though, and listen to when it is telling me to take a break!

    Good luck at the race tomorrow!

  4. Lavender espon salt is my new BFF… I’m planing on soaking in it tonight after dinner.
    It’s hard to listen to your body when you have other plans for it, but in the end it’s the best thing to do.
    Hope you feel much better tomorrow

  5. So funny – your knees are what my calves look like with bags of peas haha Have you taken any ibuprofen? That seems to help me the most.

  6. Oh rest days I love ’em! I did used to not like them and had a really hard time taking a rest day. When I started training for races and stuff, rest days were important. I started to realize that my body really loved rest days and have since incorporated them into my routine. Sometimes I even have to take two rest days. Crazy! But I try to listen what my bod tells me. Epsom salts are amazing! Love them!

Leave a Reply

