My Metaphorical Tire

 

I was super excited to hit up a yoga class last night. It was much needed for those calves let me tell ya! 😉  I am starting to think that we don’t engage in enough stretching after boot camp because by the end of the day I am pretty darn sore. 

My favorite part about this yoga class is we do about 10 minutes of meditation to begin the class and end with 10 minutes of mediation.

It’s so relaxing I usually just want to fall right asleep afterwards. ZZZZZzZzZZZZzzzZZZZ……. Well it sure got me rested and stretched for what I was about to endure this morning.

Boot camp day#7….. The 2.5 mile tire run.

I bet you are wondering what is this 2.5 mile tire run? Well, we were instructed to run 10 laps around the track hauling along our 20 lb friend Mr. Tire. Now at the beginning of each lap we had to climb up this set of metal bleachers and down the bleachers, then up again the other side and down, every time we began a lap.

 

The first lap was pretty hard just getting used to carrying this tire and running. I felt lopsided at times and struggled. After I completed the first lap I noticed a girl in front of me had actually stepped into the middle of tire and carried it around her waist like a donut. That looked tons easier than trying to keep exchanging it from arm to arm.

I decided to give this method a try. As I began running with this tire around my waist I could feel the weight of it against my body. It was weighing me down causing me to lose my breath and to slow my pace. I was struggling to keep a simple jog with this thing on me. This extra 20 lbs.

This tire represented one of the things that has kept me down over the past few years. It is the thing that has made me feel less confident, less outgoing and less desireable. This tire represented a place I do not want to see again.

So as I struggled to make it to through the last lap, I reached the end and I joyfully slammed my tire to the ground, shedding myself of this extra 20 lbs. I vowed to myself this morning that this metaphorical tire is exactly just that, a metaphorical tire. I will not let this tire have power over me and I will not let it come back. And I realized how much better I ran without an extra 20 lbs hanging around my mid-section.

Just think what it will be like when I lose 20 more? 🙂 Today I felt like a contestant on the Biggest Loser, where they are forced to carry around the weight that they had lost. It’s amazing to really feel how weighed down you are and what effect that has over you.

 

Today’s Enlightenment Boot Camp was brought to you by… the lovely maker’s of this Crunchy Tropical Smoothie:

This Crunchy Tropical Smoothie was made with the following ingredients….  

1 banana

1 cup of fresh pineapple

1.5 kiwi (without the skin)

1/2 cup frozen mango

3 tsp flax seed

1 cup of Almond Milk

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

If you want a smoothie that packs a protein punch and crunch you got it right here! 😉 Yum, Yum, Yum!!!

15 thoughts on “My Metaphorical Tire

  1. yummmy smoothie!!!!!!
    that looks good. i had my green juice this morning, but only had spinach and banana in it, so it was just ok. it wasnt terrific.
    urs, on the other hand, looks glorious!!!!!

    when i was reading your post, i thought about Biggest Loser. u rocked that challenge!!! yay!!!!!

    wanna do something different for fruity fridays? How about instead of doing a Fruit, how about we try to do the most Exotic Juice ever? Use what we want and then write about it?

  2. Sitting here with tears in my eyes…. I know what a difference the 11 pounds I have lost has made in my running and how I feel about myself…. going for the 20 that are still HANGING around!Thanx for the motivation, you so rock!

  3. Great analogy with the tire…. I can’t imagine running around the track hanging on to that thing!

    When I think about weight loss and how I feel I can run so much faster without the extra weight, I often think of a 5 lb bag of potatoes. Imagine running around carrying that! No wonder it feels so good to run 5 lbs lighter.

    Keep it up, girlfriend!

  4. Linz this is a really amazing post and I’m starring it. 😀 One of the first things I noticed after losing weight was how much easier pushups were for me. Then I was like, “well duh, I don’t have an additional 60lbs that I’m trying to manage.” It’s a really freeing moment when we hit points like that. Great job! 😀

  5. That yoga class sounds like just the thing for that mid-boot camp soreness. The tire run sounds so hard. It sounded hard even before you mentioned the bleacher runs! I love your discussion of your metaphorical tire!

Leave a Reply

