Did I beat Coach Pete?

 

Well I finished my first 5k of the year and it was record breaking! 🙂

My friend Nicole met up with me before the race and we took some pre-race photos.

I was excited to sport my new Nike running hat. It rocked btw!

 

I also found J. Alabama in the crowd. He was running the race with his fellow ROTC’ers. Did I mention before that he really doesn’t like to take pictures. So that explains the serious face.

Here is the whole ROTC crew posing with Coach Pete pre-race.

Shortly after the pre-race photo session took place we took our places at the start and waiting for the count down begin. Once the race started it was a free-for-all. It was probably one of the most chaotic starts I have been involved in. Since this was a fun run there was no timing chips and no sense of organization between the runners. Just a crazed mad dash through campus.

I looked at my garmin and realized I was running waaaaaaaaaayyyy faster than my normal pace. But the wave of people kept me going at this fast pace until around mile 2. That was when I heard the ROTC formation yelling cadences at each other and creeping up on me. I knew I had already ran too fast in the first two miles but kept pushing it as long as possible. I knew J. Alabama and crew were right behind me.

Of course I didn’t want to be passed by the whole ROTC formation but J. Alabama happily waved at me and encouraged me to join into the formation. I loved the gesture but my steam was wearing out. I waved him on and tried to pace on behind them.

I kept going and was super excited to see the outside of Bronco Stadium. I knew the Blue SMURF Turf (BSU is known for it’s blue turf) was just inside and the finish line would be close.  I looked down at garmina and saw that I was still under 30 minutes and I would make my secret goal of finishing a 5k under 30 if I just hoofed it a bit more.

 

I can’t even tell you how excited I was when I high fived Coach Pete and crossed that finish line at 29:39!!!!

My running splits:

  • Mile 1:  9:16
  • Mile 2:  9:37
  • Mile 3:  10:14
  • Mile 3 – 3.10:   7:32

Total Miles: 3.10 / 5k    in 29:39 minutes!

I broke my own personal record of 31:32 from almost a year ago! I am so happy about the improvements I have made in my running. I was even more excited to see my 9 minute miles. That is a huge accomplishment for me.

Unfortunately it was not quite enough to beat the coach. 😦

We sadly sported our consolation prize of a t-shirt saying “I’ll Beat Pete Next Year!”. 

There were roughly 1500 racer’s in Saturday’s race and about 500 actually beat Coach Pete. Pete finished in about 25:00 minutes this year.  He generously donated $10.00 per racer that beat him instead of the original $5.00 he said he would give. What a good guy!

Do you write your finishing time on your race number? I started to after my last race and kind of like the visual to see where I have been and how I am improving. Though my goal of this race was ultimately to have fun. That’s why they call it a fun run, right?! 🙂

21 thoughts on “Did I beat Coach Pete?

  1. I love the idea of writing finishing times on bibs. I have a whole shoebox full and I should really do that becfore it gets too difficult to figure out which is which.

    CONGRATS ON THE PR, GIRL! Sub-30… woohoo!!!

    The shirts are cute!

  2. Wow! That’s awesome! I bet running to those cadences was really cool. I’ve never thought of writing down my times on my bib # but that’s a really cool idea and I think I’ll start! Congrats on your PR Linzi!

  3. Writing your time down on your bib is a great idea! I never thought of that but I’m definitely going to keep it in mind for upcoming races. 😀

    Congrats on the fun run! I love races where everyone is having a good time yet challenging themselves along the way. Hooray!

  4. What a fun recap. I love your “next year” shirts!

    How great that he donated $10 per runner! Wow!

    I don’t put my time on my bibs but that is a great idea!

  5. Woohoooooooooo what a great result! Congrats on your new PR.

    I loved reading your report and the pics. Looks like a fun day.

  6. Pingback: Pushing beyond my limits « Destination 26.2

  7. Pingback: The Great Potato « Destination 26.2

  8. Pingback: 3! « Destination 26.2

Leave a Reply

