Confirmation

 

The feeling hit me on Saturday like a ton of bricks. I had my running shoes on and I was ready to go, but I had that feeling in the pit of my stomach. That feeling of wanting to give up.

The idea of quitting running forever flashed through my head. Would it matter? Would anyone care? I mean really, what’s the point?

I hate how these thoughts come into our heads like a flash of lightning. I think I was a little frustrated by my performance of week #1 of my half-marathon training plan. It was Saturday and I had only run 3 miles for the whole week. 3 miles. 😦

How would 3 miles prepare me for running a half-marathon and then a marathon. Ugh… I wanted to give up right then and there. Throw the running shoes in the garbage and call it a day.

I am still not sure what came over me at that moment. As I have not had a feeling this strong since I started running a year ago. I have been motivated, excited and willing to jump right into this running adventure. But this past Saturday, I realized I was at a turning point. A point in which I could easy quit and not feel too much guilt. I was only one week into my training plan, this would be the time to call it quits.

All decked out in my running gear I opened my front door and drug my feet to my mailbox. I was clearly stalling, still trying to talk myself out of this saturday run.

I opened my mailbox to find this:

It must have been a sign from the running gods themselves.

YOU CAN DO IT, it reads. That was only part of what got my attention. The second part happen to be the EXACT marathon I had decided that I was going to run.

Seriously?! I took this postcard and posted it on my wall and took a deep breath and repeated out loud, I CAN DO THIS, I CAN DO THIS.

It was then that my second thoughts of running this marathon came and went. I CAN DO THIS and I WILL DO THIS.

I slammed the door and began my 4 mile run.  It wasn’t the best run ever, heck I wouldn’t even consider it a good run. But the point is that I ran.

That postcard was the thing I needed to confirm that I was on the right path and heading in the right direction. I need not be so hard on myself and just keep looking forward. In two weeks I will officially start training with Team in Training.

In other news….

I would just like to wish J. Alabama a  HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

A man that makes me laugh……

Makes me happy…..

And has changed my world in a matter of a year.

You are my best friend and I am so glad to have you in my life. Happy Birthday Love!

15 thoughts on “Confirmation

  1. Awesome!! Don’t you just love it when the stars align like that? Way to go on getting out there. Getting out the door is always the hardest part for me too.

  2. Very inspirational post. I was in almost exactly the same boat on Saturday, and I failed to get out. I appreciate your honesty with feeling less than excited about training at times. WTG with getting out. I will do the same.
    Happy running,
    Rundad

  3. I’ve had lots of moments like that. Sometimes I just get a bit burned out. Other times I’ve got my mind on something big and I start to have doubts. Those are the times when I take a day or two break then I force myself out there. Sometimes it takes a couple runs, but before long that passion comes back and I remember why I love running.

  4. i would be sad if u quit. i care if u quit. DONT QUIT! YOU CAN DO IT!
    you are a strong woman….you can do anything. And dont let one week determine the rest of the your training. no worries. we all have bad weeks and slow weeks. you are a star and soon you will be a marathoner. come on, the biggest loser people do it….so can you!!!!
    pls dont quit, marathon twin!!!!!

    and happy birthday to the lovely J. Alabama!! hope you guys had a fun celebration!

  5. that is just the way life goes…. when you need it most… keep up the great work, tell me where to donate and oh ya, I’m your biggest fan! on on

Leave a Reply

