Life Unplanned

I’ve always been a girl with a plan. Whether it was mapping out my highschool or college courses, where I want to be at certain ages of my life and now with my running training.

A plan is what always makes me feel on track, organized and safe. It relieves that awful anxiety of NOT KNOWING, it helps mentally prepare you for what is coming next and a plan makes sense.

Though, recently in my personal life and in my running life I realize that a plan is not always going to go as planned. Can you really plan for everything? No, but you can be aware of things that might happen and keep tabs on them in the back of your mind and not let them consume you.

I believe all my stresses over running last week were due to a feeling of not fulfilling my so-called running plan. I know I am doing my best to follow the plan and that sometimes LIFE is going to happen.

I am vowing in ALL aspects of my life to chill out. Take a chill pill. Chill-ax.

Whatever it takes to get my emotional rollercoaster to the destination it needs to go to.

I believe that things happen for a reason, and that in the end everything usually works itself out. So all my stressin’ about missing a run or running too much, or eating something not so good for me, or worrying about things that will happen in the future is just taking me away from my life experiences now.

Destination 26.2 is more than just an ending point in San Francisco at a finish line. It’s a whole journey of meeting all of you and experiencing these ups and downs along the way.

I don’t want to miss out on the journey of my life because I am so infatuated with the end goal. As Kara mentioned in a very heartfelt post yesterday, changing different aspects of your life (ie.. losing weight, getting married, getting a higher paying job) doesn’t make everything all peaches and cream.

You are in charge of how you feel about yourself and your life. It has to come from YOU first.

So my rant for the day is to remind myself that I am ON track. I am where I need to be and I will reach my destination with tons and tons of awesome experiences and memories along the way.

I am not letting a piece of paper (a virtual google doc) dictate my life. I am just going to live for me, do what I can do and BE AWESOME.

Are you a plan freak like me? Or do you live for spontaneity?

Obviously, I am not ripping up the running plan, but I am going to be more chill about life in general. And just do what I can do and choose to be happy.

14 thoughts on “Life Unplanned

  1. I think the chill out advice is really good! I definitely need to do that with all I have on plate. At home, at work, and at school, I need to stop spending so much time worrying and stressing and start doing. Thanks for the inspiration lil sis!

  2. Got this quote on my calednar this morning…it’s from Winston Churchill: “It is a mistake to look too far ahead. Only ONE link in the chain of destiny can be handled at a time.” True that!

  3. I’m a *bit* of a plan freak, but I am working on it. 🙂 If there is one thnig I have learned with running, it’s that you have to be flexible sometimes!

  4. I’m like you: a plan freak. Even the hub calls me that, he says I always want to plan days ahead.

    I need a plan for my training because that makes it easier for me to go out and train. I didn’t finish my first week of my half marathon plan either (read your Saturday post) but I’m just doing it again this week.

    I have to be more spontaneous and less planned as I have a puppy dog now which means I have to take care of her first if the hub isn’t home.

  5. i am a total planner!!! love planning meals, workout, playlists, activities, weekends….everything!!!
    ya try to relax for a bit but u cant change your personality!

  6. I am a total plan freak, in the sense that I have to MAKE a plan … but I rarely follow it to a 100% certainty. My life (and family) is just way to sporadic for that. I have lists and charts going on just about every area of my life … projections, goals, to-do lists, plans to follow. But life always gets in the way and you can’t stress about it. Well, you can, but it’ll make your hair fall out! 🙂 I think a plan helps to lead us to where we want to go, to keep our eye on the big picture – but you do have to allow for the unexpected and roll with the punches.

    Great post!

  7. Awesome!! 🙂 I am a constant planner and number cruncher and analyzer, so taking it easy/going with the flow is one of the hardest, and as a result, most important, things for me to do.

    With life in its crazy state of flux right now — I have no idea where I’ll be living or what I’ll be doing in 6 months or a year — all I can do is take things as they come and hope that whatever happens, it is for the best.

    My dad used to always use the sailboat analogy: when you look at a sailboat’s course, it NEVER goes in a straight line. Sailboats change course depending on which way the wind blows, but they always make it to their final destination 🙂

  8. Aw, I hope you feel better/calmer soon! I’m kind of in the middle with planning/spontaneity. I make to do lists and follow workout plans but at the same time, I don’t live and die by them. Keep chillaxin! 🙂

  9. I feel this way a lot. I love having a plan, but sometimes I let it stress me out. This is a great post. I’ll have to come back and read your post when I need a reminder to relax!

  10. Oh, I’m a planner. When I was younger I use to get so upset if anything interfered with my planning, but now that I am older and wiser, lol..I still plan, but if something comes up I am way more flexible. You are who you are Linzi and its ok. Just take a deep breath!!! Be easy on yourself. 🙂

  11. I’m just like you. I always have a plan. I make to-do lists a week in advance, make training plans, hell I had all my college courses planned out by the end of my first semester of college! Like you, I like the expected. It makes me feel in control and comfortable I guess. One thing I found this winter though was that I just COULDN’T follow a training plan. More than I couldn’t actually- I didn’t want to. It made it feel too forced, like something I HAD to do. Now, instead, I make a training plan (simply because I like plans), but I use it as more of a guideline.. of approximately where I should be/what I should do to reach my goal.

Leave a Reply

