Fearless Linzi

 

Happy Monday!

I hope you didn’t miss me too much last week, I was super busy with work meetings. But it was actually fun, so I can’t complain. 🙂

I am still making a conscious effort to work on my 10 for 2010 Goal-utions. I heard about this great seminar coming to Boise and knew it was perfectly in line with my goalutions and would help me to get my head in the game for Half Marathon & Marathon training.

Spirit:

Yesterday I attended the “Fearless America Revolution Tour”.

It was a seminar put on  by Rhonda Britten, America’s Favorite life coach from Celebrity Fit Club, about how to unblock your soul’s potential, dismantle self-defeating habits, uncover your personal power and take back your life!

My goal for the seminar was to get the tools I needed to conquer my fear of the unknown (of running a marathon).

Sounds silly, but I am actually really skiiiirrrd (scared).

Not sure why, running 26.2 miles is just like running one mile, twenty-six times in a row. 

But what I discovered yesterday was that the hard work is already done. Seriously, I already decided that I was going to run a marathon so now that we have the hard goal in place it’s just the grunt work leading up to the big day.

I think some people struggle with making the goals, and some struggle with achieving the steps that lead up to the goal. I am the latter. 🙂

The good student that I am, took lots and lots of notes. I wanted to be sure that I would be ready to tackle FEAR head on.

Part of dealing with FEAR is realizing you need to make a new choice to change.

Obviously something is making you scared and what you are currently doing is not working. So change your routine, change your thinking, change your goals if need be, but the key is that something needs to be different.

What I took from this experience is that fear is a mechanism that is there to protect us. But if we decide to take risks and push ourselves when we feel a little discomfort our fear zone gets smaller and smaller.

The more comfortable we are in fear the more peace you will have. TOTALLY makes sense. Basically you tell fear what’s up.

You say hey marathon, I am running you and you know what I am not skiiiird. Because 26.2 is  just ONE MILE ran twenty-six times, it’s just ONE 5k ran about 8 times, it’s just ONE 10k ran about 4 times, just ONE half marathon ran 2 times. YEAH!

Okay, so I have changed my attitude towards this beast of adventure ahead of me, but the work is not done yet.  I decided to take this fear thing to another level in my life.

Mind:

I’m going to read Rhonda’s book ‘Change Your Life in 30 Days’ over the next 30 days and really work on making changes in my life. Not just dealing with the fears of running 26.2 miles, but working on other fears I have in my life.

It’s interesting how everything is inner-related and I know that my fear of running a marathon comes from a deeper fear of failure and lack of confidence. I am a great cheerleader on the outside, but inside I am a black hole of self-doubt. BUT, I am ready to change that.

So I will be reading this book over the next 30 days and will let you know how it goes. 🙂

Body:

Tonight’s training calls for a 3.5 mile run. WOOOO HOOO! Due to the crazy weather around here looks like I am hitting up the tread mill tonight. But I have to say I’m quite looking forward to it.

I ran 4.5 miles on the mill on saturday WITHOUT STOPPING. Uhmm.. that is unheard of for The Linz. Seriously, I just kept running and running and wanted to run more and actually had to stop myself.

It was the first time I have ever felt that empowered. Now, I am not looking at this machine as the ‘dread mill’ but the ‘shred mill’. Oh yeah! 🙂

Happy running everyone! And GO TEAM! 🙂 Cuz remember, we are all doing this marathon together.

9 thoughts on “Fearless Linzi

  1. That sounds like such a great seminar. You must have gotten a lot out of it… so empowering!!

    Great job on your FEARLESS run! You go girl!

    Also, I’ve been meaning to mention that I finally tried my first “green monster”. I have been experimenting a bit and totally snagging some of your smoothie ideas. Keep ’em coming! 🙂

    • Aren’t they delicious? And kind of addicting. Especially when you really start getting creative. I won’t let you down Marlene, I know there will be many more awesome smoothie recipes in my future! 🙂 Glad to hear to you liked them.

  2. That book looks really interesting! Way to be fearless! The run sounds like it was fantastic. 4.5 miles is legit! I’m glad you are doing well, I was wondering how things have been going! 😀

  3. u r totally right….we need to stare our marathon in the eyes and tell it who’s the boss! Trust me, running a marathon is kinda scary for me too! But i think its just like anything else. to tell you the truth….i was nervous running my 5k last weekend. but i did it!!!

    and from now on, i will remember that a marathon is just 1 mile ran a bunch of times!!! thnx for that! that make me feel better.

    and pls let us now how the book is!! i would love to know all its secrets!!!

    good luck on ur run tonight!

Leave a Reply

