Gettin’ my marathon on! ;)

 

Happy Cinco de Mayo!

When I think of Cinco de Mayo, I automatically think of chips and salsa! Don’t you?  I wanted to somehow come up with a tasty breakfast recipe that would help celebrate the holiday and include my craving of chips & salsa.

So, I came up with the most amazingly delicious breakfast I like to call Breakfast Nachos!

Preparation: Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees, and cut one tortilla into small triangles (like tortilla chips), put on a baking sheet and bake for about 15 minutes (until it gets crusty)

While the tort bakes, scramble up an egg or two.

Once the tortilla chips are baked, top with scrambled eggs, a few spoonfuls of black beans, and a sprinkle of cheddar cheese. Throw back into the microwave for 1 minute, to get the cheese all melty and nacho-y. Top with a few spoonfuls of salsa and plain greek yogurt and you have yourself one festive, delicious, Cinco de Mayo inspired breakfast!

 

In Running News:

Last night I had my first official informational meeting with Team In Training!

As I have mentioned a time or two, my best friend and one-time marathon veteran Maria is going to run the  Nike Women’s Marathon  in San Francisco with me in October.

I am so excited to be able to share this moment with her! And SO glad to have a partner in crime when it comes to those days where long runs (10+ miles) are on the training schedule.

Yep, so we signed our names on the dotted line and I even paid my registration fee, which means I already have fundraised $50.00 only like $3250 to go.  🙂

So it’s official, this girl starts marathon training on May 22nd. That marks the first day of Team In Training. I.CAN’T.WAIT.

Seriously, I know it’s only a few weeks away but I feel like it’s my Christmas! I think it’s because I have been talking about this since last September, and it’s finally here.

The Linz is on adventure to raise money for The Leukemia  & Lymphoma Society and to run my first ever marathon. YAYAYAYA!!!

14 thoughts on “Gettin’ my marathon on! ;)

  1. ohhh exciting breakfast!!! it makes me hungry just looking at it! 🙂 u r one creative gal!
    i thought about joining team in training but they dont have anything near me. the closest place that holds meetings is downtown toronto which is kinda far for me to go. but it sure is a great cause!

    wow ur starting so soon! i am not starting my training till mid/late june! cant wait to hear all about it!
    keep up the good work, marathon twin!

  2. I’m so thrilled for the two of you! Thank you for taking a leap of faith to help raise money to fund cancer reaserch… you ROCK!

  3. Wow! Awesome job on your fundraising!! And while I usually go for a sweet breakfast over a savory one those breaky nachos look pretty effin delicioso!

  4. I love your breakfast!! I do a quicker version – I put a corn tortilla in the toaster and it gets all crispy, then add toppings like yours – breakfasts like that always stick with me for a long time!

    Do you have a link to your Team In Training! I’d be happy to donate! 😀

  5. The start of training is SO EXCITING! Especially since you have a friend to run with!

    My good buddy just told me today she is going to use the same marathon training as me for Chicago so I think we will do a lot of our long runs together!!!

  6. You are going to L-O-V-E love Team in Training. Besides the fun, social aspect, the inspiration pours out of the people running the program. I’ve cried at probably 50% of the sessions – note to self: no mascara at marathon training.

    Yay for May 22! I am excited to watch your journey and share in your experience 🙂

    • Thanks for the tip! I know, I almost didn’t make it through the informational meeting after listening to all the stories because I was practically in tears too. And I am so glad to have support from a fellow team in train-er!! 🙂

  7. Pingback: TNT « Destination 26.2

Leave a Reply

