Pushing beyond my limits

 

Whew! I must say that I rocked it last night at the oldy but goody Les Mills Body Combat Class!

Yeah, that girl in the back is me! LOL… I wish. But seriously, I feel my abs and whole body getting tighter after one session of combat.   

See check it out, I was one sweaty beast. But sweaty beast = awesomeness in my book.

I didn’t stop my workout at the end of my 60 minute cardio class. Nope, I went straight for the ‘shred-mill’ and hopped on for a run. I ended up running 1.5 miles and actually had it in me to run more, but the old tummy was grumbling. I knew I hadn’t properly fueled before kickboxing to be running afterwards.

But I realized two things last night,

  1. I run waaaaaay better on the shredmill when I have had a nice warm-up session. Body Combat warmed up my muscles. I would have busted out a 5k if the I wasn’t trying to gnaw my own arm off.
  2. You always have it in you to push a little more. (I definitely gave it my all at BC, but realized my body is amazing and I can push it a bit harder at times).

Do you warm-up before you head straight into your run?

If I am outside I usually just walk a few minutes then hit the pavement hard. But when I’m at the gym I try to walk at least a mile or do some elliptical action for 10-15 minutes first.

In other awesome running related news:

I FINALLY got around to signing up for the Famous Idaho Potato 10k race.

 The race is next saturday! Eeeeek!

I am not sure why, but I had been putting off registering for this race. I actually feel really nervous to run this race.

I know I can do it, I ran the 5 mile St. Patty’s race in March and rocked it. And though I didn’t Beat Coach Pete last month I still PR’d on my 5k time.

So what’s my deal? 

Anyone else get the pre-pre race jitters?

You know what I mean? You are super excited about it, but as the time comes closer the nerves are unbearable. And these aren’t the actual running nerves, this is just me doubting my abilities.

Ugh. So what has helped is to actually re-read my race recaps from my past two races and remember how AWESOME I felt afterwards. And how I did way better than expected in both races.

Yeah! So I made myself sign up and get the fear of running 6 miles out my head. Because I know I can do it. I ran my first 10k last October and did quite well.

And the kicker, I get a really awesome Idaho Potato Pin in my race packet. Yeah! 🙂

Happy Friday everyone. Happy running and Happy Mother’s day weekend to all you mom’s out there. Especially mine, because you are amazing and I am so lucky to have you in my life. BEST MOM EVER! 🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Pushing beyond my limits

  1. I’m with you 100% on the warmup before a run!! I am convinced I ran a half-marathon PR (my first sub-3:00 race) because I had to walk/jog over a mile from my hotel to the race start line.

    I thought the warmup would tap out some of my energy for the race itself, but it totally worked the opposite way! I got those crummy first few miles out of my system, my legs got nice and warmed up, and I rocked the race! 🙂

  2. Good for you!! I wish I had such a nice after workout glow like you do!!

    I do warm up before running on the tm. Usually 2-5 minutes depending on my gym time. And I am horrible with the pre run fueling. I am working on that though! I do get pre race jitters every single time. But I am confident that you will bust through next weeks race! Woot! Have a great weekend!!!

  3. YES, I always get pre-race jitters… even after ~30 races in the last few years. I think it translates to adrenaline on race day, so it’s all good! Good luck at the potato race. 🙂

    Great job on your BC/run workout too! I never really warm-up, though I probably should.

  4. Yay on signing up for the 10K! I have the opposite of pre-race jitters – I am WAY too casual (at least, lately!). I think re-reading your reports is a good idea!

    Warming up helps me big time too! During the week, I usually do speed work/intervals and tempos, which include warm ups and cool downs.

  5. Congrats on signing up for the 10k! I definitely have pre-pre race jitters for Ragnar next week. Eek. I usually don’t warm up, although I used when I was doing the c25k program. I probably should! Have a great weekend 😀

  6. I love Les Mills classes except for body combat 😆

    I’m the same as you for warming up: outside walk a few minutes. At the gym I use the stationary bike for 5 minutes before I hop on the treadmill.

  7. Congrats on signing up for the 10K! I definitely have pre-pre race jitters haha, I’m almost better the day of a race than the days before a race!
    As for warming up before a run, I can definitely notice the difference! Somehow though, I’m still too lazy/time pressed to always do it! I really should though, dynamic stretching works really well for a quick warm up before a run, too.

  8. Body Combat sounds serious!

    I’ve only done 2 race and both times I was really surprised at how relax and confident I felt.

    As for Warming up, I usually do a 5min warm up walk but honestly I haven’t really noticed much of a difference.

    Congrats on signing up for the 10k, I think I get more nervous signing up for a race then on race day.

  9. warm ups are good! i feel so much looser when i warm up. when i dont, i dont fall into my groove until after the 1st mile.

    and congrats on signing up for the race. looking forward to hearing all about it!

Leave a Reply

