Just Do It attitude

 

I’m not sure if it was the fact that yesterday was a Tuesday that really felt like a monday but I was struggling to want to do my run after work. Anyone else feel a bit off after the long weekend?

But being the good little marathoner in training, I geared up into my new running clothes anyways.

People, it’s only week 2 of marathon training, I can’t get lazy just yet.

Once I was actually dressed in my running clothes I felt a sense of calm come over me. The anxiety of the run was no longer. I knew at this moment I would be able to run and it would be okay.

What I decided in that moment, before I left my office in my workout clothes was that I needed to have a JUST DO IT attitude. Maybe this sprung from the fact that I was decked pretty much head to toe in Nike Gear or maybe it’s just I was mad at myself for wanting to skip my run.

Either way – I just did it.

I was even driving on my way to the gym and took a quick U-turn and decided to run outside instead. I saw dark clouds in the sky, but the air was warm and I knew my 30 minute run would beat the rain. Garmina-less, I just did it.

I ran freely. I ran without music. I ran without knowing my pace. I just ran.

It was pretty awesome! 🙂

I know I have discussed the ways to be successful in a morning workout, but I never thought how important my afternoon tips are as well.

The factors that helped to be successful in my run last night were three things:

1. I always bring my running/workout clothes to work in a gym bag.

2. I always change into my running clothes before I even leave my work.

3. No matter how much I don’t want to workout or run after work I at least put on my gym clothes before heading out the door

These three tricks have helped with my head games immensely.

  • If I have my gym bag full of clothes at work, I do not have the excuse to go home first and get distracted.
  • Once I put on my gym clothes I usually feel 100 times better and am in the mindset to work out.
  • Since I dressed in my gym clothes before leaving the office it’s easier to head straight to the gym without detours.
  • And last but not least, having the Just Do It attitude. I realized that there are going to be times that I do not want to do what is on my training plan, but it’s there for a reason. I need to get out of my own head and suck it up.

I also just realized that I will be running in the NIKE Women’s Marathon in October- LOL. So… Just DO It indeed! 🙂

 

 Do you have any tricks to make sure your workout goes as scheduled?

8 thoughts on “Just Do It attitude

  1. Hi! I recently found your blog and will be following you as you train…I’m doing the same! No new tips from me, but I usually run in the afternoons during the week too and find I need to go change right after work to make sure I make the time for a run.

  2. Those are great tips! Ultimately the one that works best for me is the Just Do It. All the prep in the world helps, but ultimately just doing it is what makes it happen. I had one of those runs last night. Super sore, tired, unmotivated – but I did it anyway. It was awful, but I’m still glad I did it and it’s done.

  3. JUST DO IT is right! and hey, u did it! great stuff.

    sometimes i make excuses for myself not to go running or to the gym. sometimes its just hard. but reading your list, now i have no excuses.
    i dont have any tips, but a friend of mine told me that she sleeps in her running clothes so that when she wakes up at 4:50, she can be out there door by 5: no excuses!

  4. I do the EXACT same thing! I always change before leaving the office. Sometimes I still get distracted on the way home (like last night when I remembered our fridge was emptier than empty), but it’s hard to ignore the fact that I’m decked out to sweat. While ordinarily I would have plopped in front of the tv when I got home, I hopped on the elliptical instead.

    Unless I’m dead tired, I have a no excuses rule in effect too. I tell myself I can’t back out today, but it’s ok to put off tomorrow. Scheduling rest days is ok, being lazy is not. I don’t think I’ve ever regretted a workout.

  5. I find even if I don’t want to go once I get out there i never regret it. Sometimes I tell myself “I’ll just go around the block” and when I get out there I don’t want to come back ;-). Just do it is a great way to look at it, because Just do it, turns into YAH I DID IT!

  6. Those are GREAT tips! Sometimes there’s just no motivation left after the work day. Seems t be working for you! Way to go, girl! Just do it! 🙂

  7. I always schedule my trainings 4 weeks ahead in my planner. My gym is close at my home so changing at work is not an option. I do put everything ready for my training on the night before and I always change immediately when I come home. As soon as I sit down first, I’m lost 🙂

Leave a Reply

