Took 1 for the Team

 

It was hard this morning to get out of my nice warm bed. I’m not going to lie when I say I considered the alternatives to my run this morning.

I could sleep in a little longer, maybe put in a nice flick, cuddle in a blanket on the couch with a warm cup of joe.

But none of those things sounded as good a I feel right now. 🙂 It’s barely 11 am and I just finished my 3rd Team in Training Saturday run.

Today’s scheduled “long” run was 5 miles.

I met up with my Team at 8:00 am this morning for a quick pep talk, some information about getting enough electrolytes and salt on runs, then we were off.

I was so sad that my training buddy Maria couldn’t be there today, but I made a new friend. Her and I chatted the whole run – it was really fun!

My goals for joining Team in Training:

  1. Run a Marathon
  2. Raise lots of money for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
  3. Make new running friends

So far so good!

We finished our 5 miler run in 56 minutes. We incorporated the galloway walk/run method. We ran for 6 minutes/walked for 1.  I am still getting used to it, but noticed it wasn’t so hard to start and stop this time around.

After my TNT run I remembered that I had signed up for Courtney’s Virtual 10k race today. Well,  I literally took 1 for the team (Team Destination 26.2) and hopped back onto the green belt to finish my 1.2 mile to make it a full 10k.  

Final stats of 5 miles + 1.2 miles = 66.06 minutes (1 hour and 6 minutes)

I wanted to say that my last 1 miler was a speeeeeedy one for me. I had NO idea I would have that much energy to sprint it out after just finishing up 5 miles. But the galloway method did it’s job of keeping some energy in reserve just for this instance.

Now, I can go snuggle on my couch with my cup of home-brewed joe and enjoy the rest of my saturday.

***

Speaking of coffee… 🙂 Don’t forget you can still participate in Coffee For A Cause!

I am challenging all my readers to donate their weekend coffee funds to a good cause. The cause is The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. And you will be helping me reach my goal of raising $3200 so I can reach my Destination of 26.2 miles in October.

I am doing the hard work by running and training daily and just need your help to continue raising money to help save lives.

For five bucks you can get entered in my drawing for this SWEET pink iced coffee (or smoothie) cup.

For ten bucks you will get three chance to win in this drawing for this awesome coffee cup.

To donate to this amazing cause click on my Team In Training Fundraising Page.

I will be choosing a winner bright and early on monday morning, so you have all weekend to donate to Coffee For A Cause!

And let me just thank everyone who did participate yesterday and who have already donated prior! It means a lot to me to have all your support in running this marathon. But even more, knowing that this money will actually help people gives me joy.

Thank you everyone!

7 thoughts on “Took 1 for the Team

  1. I admire you that you did go for that run. I did turn around once more in my bed and slept a bit longer. By the time I got up it was to hot to run so I skipped today.

    Great run!

  2. I am so glad you are enjoying TNT! Also happy to hear you have tried the Galloway method and like it. I am anxious to see how it will help me on long runs. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Breaking Barriers « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

