On The Road

Happy Monday! I am excited to say that I am blogging to you while I’m out-of-town on a work trip.

Yup, me and pink pearl (my laptop) are loving the fact that we can blog from anywhere now. I feel like a real blogger now! 🙂

So I travel a few times a year for my job and always struggle with my food intake while on trips. I usually treat it like a mini-vacation. Well not this time around. I started the weekend with the mindset that I was going to do more than just try this time. I’m going to be healthy while out-of-town at this work conference.

Now to make my mornings a little more like at home I knew there were a few things that HAD to be packed no matter what.

Let’s play a little game… what do you spy with your little eye?


If you guessed Almond Milk you were correct. If you guessed a mini portable blender you are correct too!

Who packs milk and a blender seriously? Well I even considered packing spinach if I knew there was a good way to keep it cool until I reached my hotel, but decided that just seemed silly. Silly to carry around spinach in my suitcase. Because carrying around milk and blender is very much not silly.

Once we arrived at our hotel I made a quick pit stop at the grocery store. I grabbed a few essentials for the next few mornings and added them to hotel mini fridge.

The key to being healthy while traveling is making sure you have plenty of healthy snacks on hand. I stuffed apples in my carry-on for the plane ride, so I wouldn’t be tempted to buy something bad for me at the airport.

I am actually really excited about this healthy travel challenge. 🙂

Another important component for me while traveling is to keep on schedule with my daily work-out routine. If you are traveling, you can always call ahead and see what kind of fitness center your hotel offers. I knew the hotel fitness center would be my best option due the crazy amounts of rain and the fact that this hotel is located off of a freeway exit. It does not give me a lot of options for running in the surrounding areas.

So this morning at 5:45 am I jumped out of bed and went straight for the work out room. My Team In Training marathon plan called for a 30 minute run and I was ready to bust it out!

I found one lonely treadmill in the workout room. I hopped on and started amping up the speed. Apparently this thing is ancient and literally maxed out its speed at 4.5. 😦  Seriously? I was a little upset that the thing would not go any faster. I did however, huff it out for 30 minutes.

I remembered that I am sort of taking it easy this week on the runs anyways, as I am running in my first relay race on Saturday! So I decided to enjoy the leisurely pace on the mill and give my legs a little break as they will be thankful after Sat. I am running roughly two five-mile legs of the race on Saturday with my team PBR (Proffessional Beer Run).

After my run I went straight up to the room to indulge in my traveling green monster.

Check out my “kitchen”.

I hope nobody is extremely grossed out by the fact that I made my green monster in the bathroom, but what’s a girl to do?

My green monster contained:

  • 1 cup of almond milk
  • 1 banana
  • a pinch of protein powder (it’s in the baggie and I didn’t have a spoon so I guessed)
  • half an almond butter packet
  • spinach

I forgot to mention the best part about Hamilton the portable blender, is that the blender turns into a to-go cup. I took my smoothie to my morning meeting and I was all set with my breakfast.

Now I’m off to help coordinate a golf tournament! I love my job! 🙂

***

Before I go, I just wanted to say thanks again to EVERYONE who has donated to my Team In Training marathon. Every little bit helps me reach my goal of raising $3200 for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society and the big goal of being able to run in the Nike Marathon in October.

I used the random number generator to pick a winner for the Coffee For A Cause Challenge and the big winner was BIZ from The Biggest Diabetic Loser! Please email me your address and I will send you your new PINK Iced coffee/smoothie cup!

I will be back tomorrow to report on my healthy happenings at a work conference. What are some ways you keep healthy while on the road?

17 thoughts on “On The Road

  1. That’s so funny! JUST this morning I was thinking about how I should buy one of those mini-blenders. I use my roommate’s at home, but I’ll be spending a week at the beach in August… so in addition to my marathon training (I’ll have to do a 15-miler), I will need my protein shakes! What’s a girl to do? How much was yours?

  2. I was at a conference over the weekend and really wanted to stick to my training plan. I had a 7 miler scheduled, but my Garmin had dead batteries (boo). Also, I was at 6200 feet of elevation, as opposed to the 1300 I live at, so I had to ‘respect the altitude.’ I ended up doing a run/hike for 1 hour and 40 minutes through Garden of the Gods in Colorado Springs. It was worth it!!

  3. wow! u r awesome! now i know why i wanna be your friend! hahhaha. i always have big problems staying healthy and on track while on holidays. thats awesome that you took a blender with you. two thumbs up!
    and way to go on your run! u r really on your way to a great marathon!
    i start marathon training in 3 3 weeks. 🙂 cant wait

    happy monday!

  4. I never have to travel for my work but I love the idea that you brought your blender and almond milk and make your smoothies every morning, great idea!

  5. I am so bad about eating unhealthy stuff when I travel! I wish I was better like you! I get the exercise in… but way too much food 😉

  6. Way to go on the healthiness while traveling! The key is being prepared, which you clearly are! 🙂 Dude, I would have been so annoyed at the treadmill. At least it was somewhat functioning I suppose..

  7. yay Z! I love it! I am so proud of you! I love that about you- there is a WAY! Nothing is going to stop you sweet girl! YAY!

  8. How exciting that I won!! And I am not grossed out that you used your hotel bathroom as a kitchen! Way to stay on track even with a crazy work schedule!!

Leave a Reply

