Over the Funk

 

I have been in a minor funk the last few days. But after yesterday’s shanigans I am over said funk and ready to rock life!

I started my day yesterday by running a lovely 5 miler. I was bummed to realize I had overslept and missed my Saturday TEAM run, but didn’t let that stop me from lacing up the old shoes and hitting the pavement.

It was 70 degrees with a nice breeze, pretty much the most ideal running weather ever.

To be honest, I haven’t run or hit the gym since monday, partially adding to my funkness. So I believe the run was mentally harder for me than physically. My legs did not forget how to run after taking 4 days off. Thank goodness, but I still kept a slow and steady pace with several walking breaks.

My 5 Mile Run:

  • Mile 1 –  10:48
  • Mile 2 –  12:09
  • Mile 3 – 11:43
  • Mile 4 – 11:14
  • Mile 5 – 12:00

Total Distance: 5.01 miles  |   Total Time:  58.02 minutes

Half-Marathon:

I also wanted to thank everyone for their advice on whether or not I should run in a half-marathon next weekend. I took to heart everyone’s comments and knew I needed to listen to my gut. My gut was telling me I needed just a few more weeks, possibly even a few more 8+ mile runs under my belt to really feel good about it.

I know I could have ran in it, and done okay, but I want to run it and feel better than okay.

So I am holding out for another half-marathon. I am actually spying one that is about a month after my marathon. 🙂

Because right now, I do want to focus on my marathon.

Fourth of July:

Happy Fourth everyone! I hope you have fun plans and bbq’s lined up for this evening.  🙂  I know I sure do! Have fun.

 

9 thoughts on “Over the Funk

  1. Great run…glad to hear you are out of your little funk. Also, sounds like you made the right choice on the half, wait until you are ready and focus now on the marathon! Happy 4th!

  2. hey!
    i missed you! i was going to email u today if u didnt see u post.
    hope everything is ok!
    we all get into a funk sometimes.

    happy 4th of july.
    and good choice on the half. always best to follow ur heart!

  3. Love YOU and your funkness…. 🙂 Thanx for being so honest with your sharing… we all have our funks! Run on my friend, run on!

  4. I know just what you mean. Sometimes, it’s all about the mental health – getting that exercise in. It makes all the difference in lifting me out of my funks.

  5. Isn’t it funny how sucking it up and doing the last thing you feel like doing (running) is sometimes the only thing that makes you feel better? It sounds like you’re happy with the decision you made about running the half and that’s all that matters. It’s worth nothing if you don’t enjoy it. Happy traning!

  6. Great job on the run! Good for you getting out there despite not making the Team meet.

    Sounds like the right call on the HM – I hope another one pops up for you.

    Enjoy the rest of your holiday weekend!

  7. yay for being over the funk! I think you made the right decision with your half marathon. I’ve been in a bit of a blogging funk; I haven’t really felt motivated to post. I’m hoping the race this weekend will kick me into gear. Anyway, I am glad you are feeling better! 🙂

  8. Great run! I’m always surprised that running seems so naturally after a couple of non-running days. Usually these runs are the best!

    Smart decision about the half-marathon in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

