Sunrise Runner

 

I woke up early this  morning with the urge to run. Woah, that never happens!

So I went with it, and I am SO glad I did! 

The air outside this morning was cool and refreshing. It was so peaceful running along the river listening to the chirping of the birds. I didn’t bring the iPod this morning so I would be more aware of my surroundings.  

This morning’s run was AWESOME. awesome in the sense that I kept great speeds for the entire distance. My slowest mile was between mile 2 – mile 3 where I tackled a big hill. I was so excited to look down at garmina and see I was running a 10:15 mile up the hill. YAY YAY YAY!

I was even more ecstatic when I was rounding the end of my run and looked down to see an 8:32/mile minute pace for the last .50 of my run. Ummm… I have never, EVER, seen my garmina hit any pace where there was an 8:00/min pace involved. Umm… What?

I am happy with this morning’s performance.

Happy that I ran, happy that I rocked it and happy to see that I have a little speed demon in there waiting to be released.

Today’s Run Stats:

  • Mile 1 –  9:24
  • Mile 2 – 10:45
  • Mile 3 – 10:15
  • Mile 4 – 9:32
  • Mile .05 – 9:06/ average

Total Time: 45.04    |  Total Distance: 4.56 miles

I have big plans after my marathon to work on speedier runs, but during most of my marathon training I am just focusing more on the distance. As I am new to long distances and am still trying to get over the mental part of running double-digits. FYI- my first 10 miler run is scheduled for this weekend! Double yay!

Do you prefer to run in the mornings or evenings?

I’m thinking I might try to run more often in the mornings considering how awesome this morning’s run was.

 

Fourth Recap:

I was uploading my pics from the big fourth celebration and wanted to share a few of my favorites with you.

We did the bbq thing, then scoped out of spot at the top of a parking garage for a view of the city fireworks. It was a pretty sweet spot!

After the works, we went back to the bbq and watched as my little brother entertained us all with his awesome fire dancing skillz.  My camera caught some sweet triple action panorama in these first two – I have NO idea how but it came out pretty cool.

My brother has been swinging fire for a few years, and I am always even more amazed when I see him do it.

He is always the life of the party!

Hope you all had a great weekend and happy Tuesday!

This week is a super short week for me, as I have a family getaway this weekend for my lil bro’s 25th and my Grama’s 70th birthdays. We are renting a vacation home, and will be doing a lot of pool workouts (aka as lounging by the pool!). Counting down the hours! 🙂

11 thoughts on “Sunrise Runner

  1. What a great run!! Way to go!
    I prefer morning runs but usually am stuck with evening runs because A. I go to bed too late to get up and run in the morning and B. the kids.
    Great 4th pics!

  2. Hey girl! Thank you so much for the sweet thank you card. That was totally unnecessary but a nice surprise in the mailbox. I am so rooting for you and PUMPED about your training and fundraising for the L&L Society. Keep it up!

    I am sooo jealous of your cool morning. It was already NASTY hot/humid way before sunrise this morning. Yuck! Nice job on the sunrise run! Perfect way to start the day.

    I tend to be an evening runner just cuz I SUCK at waking up early, but I do love to start my day with a run and always feel great when I do.

  3. Nice job, girly! I’m a morning runner myself, but I love when it really works in your favor like this, too:) Or, perhaps, it’s just that you’re a great runner, no matter what the time of day:)

  4. Another great run, you go girl!

    I prefer to run in the morning, first thing after I get up (well half an hour after I wake up or so). I gives me energy for the whole day and the feeling that the day hasn’t really started and you already got your workout/run in is great.

    I’m having a vacation now and workout/run in the morning and love it.

  5. Good work on your pace! By the time you do your marathon, you’ll probably be ready to take on faster paces over shorter distances. I bounce between training for distance and pace and it seems to work well.

    I prefer to run in the evenings. I can’t get myself together to run before work. If I didn’t work though I’d probably prefer to run around 9:00 or 10:00 in the morning.

  6. great job on the run. u r getting faster and faster. that is great.

    nice pix of the fireworks. as much i love pictures and am pretty creative with them, i cannot take pix of fireworks for the life of me. i can never catch them!

    how is traing going this week? have u been hit with this heat wave as well?

  7. That’s awesome, girly! I am a big proponent of morning running. I HAVE to right now in Boston because it is ridiculously hot even at 6 AM…the humidity is out of control! I set my alarm for 5:25 and I’m out the door by 6…

Leave a Reply

