A Real Inspiration

What a weekend! I was excited to be reunited with J. Alabama (which he was gone away at training for 29 days!)

(This pic is from June, and he no longer sports the beard!)

I was also excited to meet up with my TEAM on Saturday for a very special session.

Not only were we going to run together, but we had some special guests to meet up with us after for a patient honoree breakfast.

We met up bright and early as per usual and headed off for our group run. The plan was to go as far as we could go in 60 minutes.

It was a beautiful morning on a favorite running path of mine.

I struggled though to keep up with my peeps as my shins were giving me some grief. I blame trying to add back in Jillian’s 30 Day Shred last week for cross-training (it tore my muscles up).

But when I looked back at my running times after our run I realized we were keeping a pretty fast pace with our 6 minute runs/1 minute walks. So maybe I was just running faster than my normal pace?

Anyways, I kept strong until the end of our 60 minute run where we were greeted by a load of cheerleaders!

Having all these awesome gals cheering us on put a HUGE smile on my face. GO TEAM!

I managed to hit 5.39 miles in 60 minutes with the breakdown as so:

  • Mile 1:  10:46
  • Mile 2:  11:04
  • Mile 3:  10:54
  • Mile 4:  11:24
  • Mile 5:  10:55
  • Mile 5 – 5.35:  4:57

Then we went straight to our Patient Honoree Breakfast to feast on some yummy grub and prepare for a good cry-fest.

There was so much delicious food. Some people were even saying this might be the best Honoree Breakfast yet!

We ate and mingled – I’m truly enjoying every aspect of this Team in Training Journey. There really is more to it than just running a lot!

We gathered around to hear from our from our special guests about how The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society has helped them to be able to stand before us and share their stories. This is when the tears started flowing… sniffle!

Byron was telling his story of how he kicked cancer’s ass! He is a true inspiration to our team.

He just competed in his first triathlon a few weeks ago and that is less than a year after his cancer went into complete remission.

I sat there in complete awe after I heard  his story and many more after his.

It’s amazing to think that my $3200 is going directly to help people like him get through the toughest times of their lives. But in the end this cancer seemed to have given Byron a whole new outlook on life. He was determined to give back and to help motivate others around him.

It really made the reason we are running and raising funds REAL.

Real people. Real Stories. Real emotions.

It was a really neat experience to hear how just by me running and raising money I am saving lives. And together as a TEAM we have so far raised over $64,000 and we aren’t done yet!

I know I have said it a million times before – but until  you hear it straight from the survivor’s mouth, you don’t realize how powerful this experience is. It’s not quite REAL until they are standing before you thanking you for raising money because without that they may not be alive.

So, again that brings me to ALL of you.

All of my readers and supporters. You are what’s keeping me going to keep it going for them. It’s an amazing circle of life that keeps on giving and I’m so blessed to be a part of it!

So again THANK YOU for your support. I am half-way through training and fundraising and couldn’t be more excited.

To date I have raised roughly $1960 for the cause which puts me at 63% of my goal.

I couldn’t be more excited and proud of where I am at.

I hope you all take a minute to celebrate your own running victories too. Every time I step foot outside in my running gear I have a bit more determination inside me to make it great – make it great for me and for all the people I am running for.

Be proud of your accomplishments, big or small because you are getting out there and inspiring others even if you don’t know it.

Happy Monday All! I have a feeling that the theme for this week is going to be inspiration – stay tuned!

10 thoughts on “A Real Inspiration

  1. What a great post, you’ve made my week start happy and grateful!

    I want to thank you too for you inspiring, motivating posts and your enthusiasm for running, puts a smile on my face everytime.

    Glad for you that your sweetheart is home again.

  2. That was a REALLY emotional morning =) Very powerful stories and what a beautiful run to start the day huh? Love reading your posts Linzi…keep it up! You are amazing!

  3. Linz, you inspire me all of the time, so I am looking forward to this week’s theme. It seems like you have once again ensconced yourself in with a group of amazing folks. Keep up the good work!

  4. Pingback: Team Send-Off! « Destination 26.2

Leave a Reply

