Sweet 16

(blog title stolen from Olivia, but it was so fitting and had to be done)

OH. MY. GAWD.

Seriously, if you asked me a year ago if I imagined myself frolicking through Boise in the wee hours of my summer Saturday mornings I would have laughed really loud in your face.

But today as I stared down at Garmina I was almost in tears. Okay, so they were mostly tears of excruciating pain, but still.

I just ran 16 freaking miles!

I guess the feeling is just surreal.

Two weeks ago I passed the half-marathon point and now I’m merely 10 miles shy of the finish line.

And to be completely honest I was feeling good until right around the 13 mile point. I was happy to see my time at 2 hours 35 at that point.

But then I started to feel it. Yup, it. It being my shins, my feet, my hip flexors…etc.

We chugged along though. With less than a 5k left we knew we had it in us to finish strong.

These two ladies were rock stars! I am pretty sure I would not have made it through without Maria & Jen. THANK YOU!

Once we hit mile 15 I knew it was time to get serious. My body was mad but I didn’t care. I ran until garmina beeped at the 16 mile point.

Whew!

16 miles…. check!

The Break-down:

Mile | Average pace per mile

  1. 10:59
  2. 11:29
  3. 10:57
  4. 11:47
  5. 12:39
  6. 10:49 <— 🙂
  7. 11:33
  8. 11:18
  9. 11:12
  10. 12:54
  11. 11:37
  12. 12:29
  13. 12:45
  14. 14:04
  15. 13:23
  16. 11:27

Total Distance: 16 miles  | Total Time: 3 hours 11 minutes

I have to admit that I am pretty stoked about our finishing time. Not that I had any clue how long it would take to run 16 miles, I was still proud of the time in which we completed it.

{ 5 +1 + 5 + 5 = 16}

A 16 mile run would not be complete without the proper ice bath.

It was icy alright! But words cannot explain the feeling I felt afterwards.

It was like a mini-miracle. For at least 15 minutes afterwards I felt no muscle pain at all. My body was probably numb but still – it was amazing!

So there you have it, another huge running milestone reached. Such a great feeling!

I’m just sitting here drinking my recovery run smoothie.

And let me tell you, with an 1823 calorie deficit to make up I wasn’t shy when adding my heaping spoonfuls of peanut butter into my banana, spinach and chocolate smoothie.

More icing, rehydrating and maybe I will soundfully nap whilst attempting to watch a movie. Sounds like a perfect afternoon!

What’s your favorite way to wind down after a long run?

21 thoughts on “Sweet 16

  1. LOL, this is too funny! I ran my first 16 today followed by an ice bath (in a tub) as well! 🙂 I am so excited! AND excited for you! 🙂

    Now I am sitting on the couch. That is what I do to relax 🙂

  2. You did AWESOME!!!

    And I have to tell you something that is kind of sick…I can’t wait till I can say I ran 16 miles too. 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your amazing run! I wish I had a stream like that nearby to dip in after a long run. Trust me you do NOT want to go into a stream where I live. It’s garbage stink dirt city!

    And go you for finishing.

  4. Great job Linzi, wow you amaze me every Saturday and give me spirit to continue my own half marathon plan.

    That cool down bath looks delicious.

    My favourite way to wind down is take a shower after my long run.

  5. oh my goodness Linz congrats- you are a ROCK STAR! I am so proud of you. I love your ice bath afterwards 🙂 Amazing!!! I love to take a long shower and relax with a book on the couch after a long run.

    Way to go- you are going to CRUSH that marathon!!!

  6. Great job!! For some reason my training plan had me skip a 16 miler. I went from 15 miles to 18 miles. Let me tell you….those three miles are HUGE! You are going to kick that marathon’s @$$!!

  7. WOW, week after week, after week, you just keep impressing me and inspiring me more and more. AWESOME! That river looks oh so cold. Bet you’re glad right then that it’s summer you are training like this in. Wouldn’t do that mid winter.

  8. Making the rounds to start following the fellow ‘Distance Dreamers’ blogs. Great job on the 16-mile run. The best part is all the smiles in the pictures. It’s hard work, but it’s supposed to be fun, and your group clearly had fun.

    I envy your ice-bath option. Much more appealing than dumping 10-pound bags into the bath tub. Keep up the GREAT work.

  9. OH. MY. GAWD. indeed!!
    16miles!! you have to be kidding me.
    AMAZING!!
    That River bath I’m sure must have felt great.
    Love the smiles on all of you after completing 16miles!

  10. Pingback: Whatta Month! « Destination 26.2

  11. Pingback: Step it back « Destination 26.2

  12. Pingback: Reflections through the hills « Destination 26.2

  13. Pingback: Do’s & Dont’s of Marathon Training « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

