Fruity FIGGY Friday

 

Happy Fruity FIGGY Friday Friends!

Now it’s been quite awhile since Aneta & I have done a Fruity Friday report. So be excited that today is the day folks that we open your eyes to the wonderful world of figs.

And as you can tell I am excited to be able to review the FIG today.

Before I could even find the fig to review it, I wanted to make sure it was in fact a fruit. I just wasn’t quite sure.

And according to Wiki Answers.com fruits have seeds, and vegetables do not. The fig has seeds so technically it’s a fruit.

Well there you go, our fruity friday is legit!

In reading up on the history figs they are considered to be one of the oldest fruits recognized by man. And was used as a form of sweetener before refined sugars were introduced. Due to it’s natural sweetness it was perfect for enhancing any meal.

Well let’s get right to it and check out these figs!

I was actually quite surprised at how soft the outside of the fig was. It was very tender and if you squeezed to hard you would definitely squish this little guy.

Then I performed surgery and cut my little fig open. Oooohhhhhh…. AwwWWWwww…. found a new setting on the point and shoot and it got some great detail of the tiny seeds and insides of the fig.

The taste of the fig is kind of faint actually. But I would compare it to the flavoring inside a fig newton. My favorite part is the crunch from the little seeds. It’s like biting into a kiwi, but the seeds are smaller and the crunch is a little less, but still a fun sensation in your mouth.

When I was thinking about what I wanted to do with all these figs I decided to recreate an awesome treat that my brother once made for me. I actually didn’t realize until now that I had tried figs earlier this summer. They were so disguised that I didn’t even know.

So here I present you White Chocolate Covered Figs!

All you need is figs & white chocolate and you are golden.

I attempted to double boil the white chocolate and the chocolate I bought didn’t want to melt.

So I threw it in the microwave and it came out all chunky.  😦 boo!

So let’s pretend the white chocolate was all melty and delicious and we covered our cute little figs with it and it dried perfectly. Imagine a chocolate covered strawberry? Okay, you got the image?

If all would have melted right I would have had the most beautiful and delicious looking figs. However, I had an EPIC FAIL.

But you get the idea, and you are drooling over the idea I’m sure.

WHAT DID I DO WRONG WITH MY CHOCOLATE? Tips on melting tricks? Was it the wrong kind of chocolate?

Now for the record, I have tasted these chocolate covered figs before and they were to die for. So just take my word for it! 🙂

But I couldn’t just leave with you a failure of a recipe so naturally I created a bomb-tastic smoothie instead.

The Figgy Smoothie was born!

The Figgy Smoothie:

  • 1/2 fresh peach
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 3 figs
  • 2 handfuls of spinach
  • 1/2 scoop of protein powder
  • 1 cup of almond milk

Yup, this one was another winner.  I especially loved the crunch of the fig seeds. And I could really taste the fig in the smoothie. It was a fun flavor to experiment with.

So there you have it, another fun fruity & figgy friday.  Be sure to stop on over at Aneta’s to see her take on the fig.

***

Now on to the CSN Giveaway!

The random number generator picked comment number 5.

That means Marlene you are the winner of the CSN gift card! I guess entering a contest 400 times gives you good odds that you will win sooner or later! LOL, your comment cracked me up.  Well I hope the new camping stove does you well! 🙂 Congrats!  

***

Be back monday with a down and dirty recap of my first ever Mud Run. The Dirty Divas are gonna get dirty tomorrow!! Wooo hooo!!

15 thoughts on “Fruity FIGGY Friday

  1. I hope to see you at the DD tomorrow. Your wave is at 9:50 and ours is at 10:10 so hopefully we’ll get to see you off! Are you and your team going to the packet pick up party tonight?

  2. So are cucumbers fruit? They have seeds!

    I tried figs for the first time last month and thought they were pretty good! I hate that around here you have to buy them by the case though, sometimes a girl just wants like, 5 figs and that’s it!

    I’m the wrong person to ask about melting chocolate, last time I tried I burned it! haha!!

    Have fun at your race!

  3. When I melt chocolate, I put a glass or metal bowl on top of a boiling pot of water. Put your chocolate in the bowl and let it soften. It takes a while, you just have to be patient. I use a spatula to stir and flatten out all the little chunks. Eventually, it will get nice and smooth!

  4. We had fig trees in our backyard when I was growing up. My siblings and I use to pelt them at one another. It was quite entertaining when someone got ahold of a rather ripe fig.. hahahahaha

  5. Those white chocolate melting wafers seem to be the easiest to melt. I’ve never had a fig before, interesting. I was wondering if you girls would be doing another fruity friday again. Good to see!

  6. Ohmigosh, I actually WON! hahahaha, too funny and AWESOME. Thanks Linz!!!!!!!!

    I can’t say I have ever tried a fig… (except the Newtno kind) and I had no idea they looked like that in the middle. Interesting!! I love that you turn EVERYTHING into smoothies. Hmm, on second thought, I should use my gift card for a new blender!!

  7. the figs were pretty good. kinda weird at first, but turned out alright. glad we had a chance to try them.

    oh, i have another fruit for us to review. its called a QUince. see if u can find it and we can review it next week or in a few weeks.

    lots of luck this weekend!!! ill be sending ur good vibes. cant wait to read the recap and see pix! xo

  8. What an interesting post! The only figs I’ve ever had and I like those!

    I was intrigued by why your chocolate didn’t melt so I researched a little bit and I guess cheaper white chocolate’s main ingredient is vegetable oil or shortening which doesn’t melt as well. If cocoa butter is one of the first ingredients, it should melt easier. 🙂

  9. I actually just had a real fig for the first time last week! I loved it.

    For melting chocolate, the thing to use is called “Almond Bark” it comes in white or milk chocolate and it’s right next to the chocolate chips. It’s a candy making chocolate, it melts in the microwave really well, you can dip anything into it and it dries almost instantly. I’ve done chocolate covered pretzels with it, and at christmas i make homemade kit kat bars. I take graham crackers, fill with peanut butter, then dip them in the chocolate…so good! Here’s a link to show you what it looks like:

    http://www.walmart.com/ip/Plymouth-Pantry-Almond-Bark-Chocolate-Baking-Bar-24-oz/10313776

Leave a Reply

