Fabulous Five

 

So the marathon clock reads 18 days until I cross that finish line and things are getting really serious up in here.

As in none of this:

And lots of this :

For the next 3 weeks.

Now, for some of you not drinking a glass of the vino or indulging in a cold brew shouldn’t be hard. But the fact that we are right in the middle of Boise State Bronco Football season has been toying with my self-control just a weeeee bit.

There are 3 football games, 2 family birthday parties, one possible bunco party and one Team in Training Send off party between now and the big day.

I’m actually pretty good when it comes down to saying no to alcohol the night before a run, but it’s the after the run drinks that have snuck up on me. Yeah, I just ran 32541651415 miles, I totally deserve a little refreshment break.

No way jose! Not now that we are just weeks from the finish line.

So I am pledging to you all that sunday night was my “last supper” for vino, cervesa,  jello shots and everything alcoholic.

I’m done, dunzo, finito, finished with the ah ah ah alcohol! (In case you needed another song stuck in your head!) 🙂

So on Sunday night I had a big feast with my Italian Familia + J.Alabama and took my last sip of the most delicious red wine. The last until after October 17th.

I know that these few weeks before the race are very crucial, and so I am just opting for the best my body can get right now. So I drank my last glass for a while and put my game face on.

I gotta hydrate, do lots of yoga and stick to the training plan for success.

So I hit the ground running last night after work. I wanted redeem myself from my run last week and feel good about my run. I set out for 5 miles.

It was perfect! It was almost even record-breaking!

My Fabulous Five Mile Run:

  • Mile 1:  10:15
  • Mile 2: 10:16
  • Mile 3: 10:11
  • Mile 4: 10:35
  • Mile 5:  10:04

Total Running Time: 51 minutes 24 seconds

And let it be known that I didn’t stop once. Nope, no water breaks, no picture breaks – it was just me running with passion for five straight miles.

I was pretty proud of myself as I kept a pretty even pace for the entire run, which is something I have struggled with too. All 10 minute-ish miles.

So all was right in the running world of The Linz again. 🙂 Love that!

Then it was time for a very intense yoga sesh!

Apparently my gym’s Beginners Yoga class is harder than you’d think.

Or maybe I was just struggling because I had just ran my little heart out.

Oh well, I ran and I did my yoga. The day was deemed a success!

Besides cutting out alcohol and adding in more yoga, are there any other things I should be doing to prepare for the marathon? I want my mind, body & spirit to be fully ready for race!

11 thoughts on “Fabulous Five

  1. I am so proud of you lil sis! You are always great about setting goals for yourself and achieving them so I am sure it will be the same for not drinking. Although I am sad I didn’t get to be there for your last glass, but when your marathon is done, it will be me and you and a bottle of wine (or two) for sure! And yes, you did get another song stuck in my head.

  2. Uggggh, I’m glad I’m not the only one over here who’s sad about the “no alcohol” rule. What a killer! Not to sound like a booze-hound, but after a hard day at work, a tall glass of milk or H2O just doesn’t cut it!
    Way to go on your 5 miles. No walking breaks, no breaks at all? You’re a powerhouse. Keep up the great running and positivity.
    I can’t wait to hear how your 20 miles goes this weekend!

  3. Way to go Linzi! I too am struggling with giving up red wine. LOL. I have a wedding this weekend and an NFL game. But with my half less than two weeks away I need to suck it up!

    In addition to yoga and water, I am basically wearing only flats. Ah, gotta love running 😀

  4. Hi Linzi! Just found your blog…it is now bookmarked! I really advocate giving up drinking totally a few weeks before my full marathons – I really think it has made a difference for me. Although I know how hard it is! I also wear only comfy shoes a few weeks before the race, and just try to relax as much as possible. You’ve done the work, now it’s just about making sure your body has some time to recover before you put it through its ultimate test. Best of luck to you!

  5. Wow. I’m impressed! No drinking for 3 weeks – I dunno if I can do it. But maybe I should take note since we are running the same marathon. I was thinking I would give myself 2 weeks, but maybe I need more? My coworker just added that I should have a gatorade a day until the race as well.

  6. i am also doing the no alcohol thing. i had my last beer with the bf yesterday to celebrate my half marathon.
    the thing that sucks for me is that thanxgiving is the weekend before my marathon and i have 2 dinners to go to. so i will be making exceptions for 2 or 3 glasses of wine during that period. but each glass of wine will be followed by a large glass of water.

    ahhhhh 18 days eh?? that is friggin fantastic. i cannot believe we are that close. we are gonna kick some a$$ at our marathons!

  7. Great run! My body cut out most alcohol about a year ago. I just gradually became intolerant to most of it. 😦 Most of the time I don’t miss it. At least I don’t have to learn to go without. 🙂 Just think of how awesome a nice brew or vino will taste after that race. That could be another source of motivation for getting to that finish line – hahhaa.

  8. I love my wine and although I ain’t going to run a marathon I’ve been thinking about not drinking for a while, just to see if my running improves. Usually I drink a glass of wine the night before a run and of course afterwards to celebrate 😆 Or I might just drink one glass a week on Saturday or Sunday after my long run. Haven’t figured that out yet.

    No tips from me as I have no experience with marathons.

Leave a Reply

