PB Problem?

 

I just heard the coolest news!

Okay, so cool news for those who like chocolate.

And those who like to indulge in chocolate while running.

I assume I am one of those people, though I have never even thought about eating chocolate during a long run.

Apparently I will have my chance to find out as mile 21 of the Nike Women’s Marathon has been deemed the “Chocolate Mile”.

It just so happens to be Ghirardelli chocolate and they will be sampling all different kinds throughout this mile on the race course.

{source}

Mmm… now that’s a San Francisco treat!

What are you thoughts about sampling a treat or two while on the race course? I would typically think it safer to just say no, but I have a suspicion that by mile 21 that chocolate is going to taste so darn good!

***

Now onto something else that tastes so darn good….

My first ever attempt at making Overnight Oats in a Jar.

I have to admit that I was not a huge fan of the White Chocolate Peanut Butter at first, but it definitely grew on me.

It tasted even more amazing as the oats and everything in the jar melded together.

 

My Oats in a Jar:

  • 1/2 cup raw oats
  • 1/3 cup almond milk
  • handful of almonds
  • 1 tbsp Chia Seeds
  • sprinkle of cinnamon
  • 1/2 a ripe banana

You throw it all in an almost empty peanut butter jar and let it chill overnight in the fridge.

So darn easy, not sure why I never tried this before.  As it also makes the perfect breakfast on the go.

But as my cupboards will show you, I am in no way in a peanut butter drought.

J. Alabama actually questioned me about my “peanut butter hoarding” problem the other day.

Truth be told,  I actually don’t eat peanut butter or almond butter all the often. It’s my go-to on toast before a long run and maybe an addition to a green monster here and there. But nothing to accuse me of having a “peanut butter problem”.

Oh well, the evidence is apparent in the picture. I have been hoarding the empty jars until the glorious day I would actually make oats in a jar. Now I have several empties just waiting for me!

I have to admit though that my first reaction to J. Alabama’s question was to be embarrassed of my collection of nut butters. But I showed him that half of the jars were empty and explained that I was saving them for Overnight Oats In A Jar.

His expression was priceless.

Oats in a Jar?

Well, I hope he reads this post so it will ALL make sense! 🙂

Happy Hump Day! My evening will include my final hill run with my team. YAY!   

 

12 thoughts on “PB Problem?

  1. Happy Hump day to u!

    i hve never tried the white chocolate peanut butter. sounds amazing tho.

    yummmmm chocolate at near the end of teh marathon!! sign me up~~~

  2. That is cool! I don’t think I would take the chocolate though. During my 14k they handed out cupcakes and I refused. Then again, that was *only* 8.7 miles.

    lol, I love your stash. Too funny!

  3. I must try oats in a jar soon but still haven’t, maybe it’s because I don’t have a stash! That’s funny…if the chocolate is at mile 21, depending on how I felt, I’d probably go for it since it’s close to the end.

  4. I just threw out an empty PB jar the other day. Though I’m not sure how I feel about cold oats … hmmmm.

    Chocolate on a run … I’m not sure. I kind of think I’d be apt to try it, but maybe it would depend on if I was running a race for the experience or for time. If I had a definite time goal and was concerned about how it might affect me, I’d probably pass. Kind of a neat idea though.

  5. Ha ha. J. Alabama must have looked clueless!

    I didn’t like White Choc Wonderful that much either, but LOVE the cinnamon swirl one with raisins.

    I would TOTALLY eat chocolate on the course. YUM!

  6. I know what you mean about the white chocolate wonderful. I’m willing to bet it would make a superb peanut butter cookie.

    I can’t see why it would hurt to sample chocolate on the race. Although, perhaps I would just pocket it and enjoy it later!

  7. At the Flying Pig marathon in Cincinnati, there are these guys that have a keg party the morning of the race at their house, which is on about mile 16 of the course. They pass out BEER to the runners. I really considered taking one this year, but deemed it a bad idea. Mile 21 though, and just chocolate? I’d go for it.

  8. OMG, I heard about the Chocolate Mile yesterday and I think it just might help me make it to mile 21. After that, who knows how I’ll make it to the finish, but at least I’ll have chocolate in my belly! I think I’ll indulge…why not?

  9. Pingback: Caught in the Act « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

