Marathon Night & Morning After

 

Thank you for all your kind words. It’s just so amazing to say that I did it. I ran 26.2 miles!

I wanted to recap a bit of the happenings after the marathon. Though I had just run a marathon I was still all smiles and ready to celebrate!

***

By the time I reached my hotel after the marathon I was still freezing cold from my wet clothes. Maria kept telling me it was ICE BATH time, but I wanted nothing but warmth.

The arch in my right foot was aching like crazy, so I figured she was probably right. Ice bath it was!

100_3813

I stuck my feet into the ice cold water and screamed out in pain. It was colder than the Boise River. I managed to sit with my shins in the water for about 5 minutes, but that was as much of an ice bath as I was getting. I still shivering from the marathon. 

100_3814

Check out the Team in Training tats! We each put one on each leg. They looked pretty cool when we were running!

Then we got ready for the Victory Party! We didn’t even get time for a nap or our second lunch.

When we got to the TNT Victory party we ate some food and I immediately ordered us the TNTini!

100_3815

100_3819

100_3817

Ahh.. it was glorious! It warmed me right up!

Then we managed to get out on the dance floor and dance for about 45 minutes. I’m not sure how we all did it. But we all rocked out!

We went out to a small bar for another celebratory drink and then called it a night. The marathon exhaustion finally caught up with us!

We slept in a bit the next morning then excitedly went to Sears Fine Food for my very first Blogger meet up!

100_3850

100_3852 Sandy, Courtney & Me!

I was so excited to meet these girls and chat with them about our races the day prior!

100_3847

All that running made us hungry!!

100_3844 

I heard they were known for their buttermilk pancakes so opted for the Swedish pancakes with a side of Lingonberries. Did I mention they were 18 mini pancakes?

100_3846

Well, if I was ever to justify eating 18 pancakes this day was surely the day for it! I was determined to put them all down, and I still couldn’t do it. Even post marathon hunger said enough was enough!

We chatted over breakfast and discussed the pros and cons of running the Nike race. Since this was my first marathon I had nothing to compare it to. But Sandy had run several before and Courtney had run several half’s before, so it was interesting to hear their opinions of the race.

I will be doing a little recap tomorrow of what I liked and didn’t like. As there were a few things that happened that were very disappointing.

After breakfast we said goodbye to Sandy and the three of us went to Nike Town to check out the Finisher’s Gear.

100_3857

100_3855

100_3859 

nike

We had a fun time shopping around the city and then said our goodbyes to Courtney. We had some lunch at California Pizza Kitchen then we had a BART to catch!

I was actually pretty surprised at how good my body felt the day after. I still had some slight pain in my right foot, but everything else felt as it should. A bit worked, but I could move around.

I thank you for reading all about my crazy shenanigans this weekend! We laughed, we cried, we conquered!

Be back tomorrow with official race photos & the good, bad, and the ugly of the Nike Women’s Marathon.

13 thoughts on “Marathon Night & Morning After

  1. I know it’s bad, but I can never get myself into an ice bath after a marathon – good for you braving the discomfort when snuggling up in blankies would have been sooo much more appealing.

    Looks like the entire trip was just a BLAST. San Fran is on my list for sure!!!

    CHEERS!!! 😀

  2. Love the last picture! Too cute. It looks like a fun meetup! 🙂 Ice baths are pure torture but you are always better off after doing it!

    Dude I can’t believe you danced after the marathon. Craziness! 😀

  3. Holy crap – $10 for a martini??? Either I don’t get out much (which is true) or that’s insanely expensive.

    I could so eat those 18 mini pancakes. Pancakes are a food that scare me a bit. Luckily we rarely ever eat those kinds in our house. We make these really heavy German fruit pancakes instead which I can only eat maybe 2 of. But those fluffy one’s, they go down so easy and I never feel full. I almost want to challenge it when they have all you can eat at a restaurant.

  4. 1) I can’t believe you went dancing after the race! But, that’s probably why you felt so good the next day. I’m exaggerating when I say I could barely move the day after.
    2) Nike is soo cool and I’m so jealous. They have so much neat, fun stuff. Love the pics and the finishers wall. I’m green.
    3) Yay for a blogger meet up! So, when are you coming to MD? 🙂

  5. 10 dollar for a Martini indeed is expensive but one Martine so well deserved, I would have bought it too!

    You had a fun day after your marathon, am happy for you you’re not in pain and could enjoy the post-victory of finishing.

Leave a Reply

