Early mornin’ sweat sesh

 

Due to the time change I was all messed up time wise and ended up going to bed at 9:30 pm last night. Which left me wide awake at 5:00 am ready to start my day.

What can a girl do so early in the morning? Might as well hit up a Body Pump class right? 🙂

So here I am ready to pump some iron in the wee morning hours.

100_4101

As you know I have been going to the gym with J. Alabama and have been working on building my strength up to keep my mind off of not running.

Now today’s Body Pump class was going to be a good indicator of testing how strong I am becoming.

100_4098

I had been taking this class on and off and was always very intimidated of adding too much weight.

But today I felt confident. In a couple exercises I even bumped up my weight.

I could definitely feel certain exercises were easier and that I may have still gone a little conservative on the weight, but all in all I was proud of my accomplishments.

I was amazed at how much improvement I have made in a few weeks time.

It made me think of when I started running and how each time became just a little bit easier. And how 1 mile turned into 2 miles turned into an easy 5k.

Weight training is the same thing! It just takes patience and a willingness to push yourself a little past your comfort zone. But in a little time you are lifting weights you never imagined and feeling good.

I touched on this a bit last week, but I have already noticed huge changes in my body.

I assume it has something to do with the fact that I am just switching up my workout routine in general. I was hitting a plateau in my running so now my body is reacting to the new workouts.

Strength training actually tightens things up and I can feel the difference.

And I have also added new forms of cardio back into my day-to-day routine. With the fight fit kick boxing class and plans to hit up some spinning classes I should be looking good by the end of the month!

***

Now onto a whole different topic, I am STILL eating apples from my apple picking adventure! And they are as delicious as ever.

I threw together a salad last night that I thought was scrumptious and worth sharing. I had never really thought to add apples to a salad, but needed to eat these apples up.

100_4077

100_4078

In the Mix:

  • Bowl of spinach
  • 2-3 small yellow apples diced
  • Half a package of craisins
  • 5 oz package of sliced almonds
  • 3/4 a container of blue cheese crumbles

100_4079

I used a poppy-seed dressing on my salad. But if I had more time, i would have actually made my own poppy seed dressing. As there are some easy and fairly healthy recipes out there.

Yum! This salad was a fun switch up on your regular old every day salad. And I typically do not like fruit on my salad but decided if it is paired with the right dressing and other ingredients it can be pretty darn good!

Do you like to eat fruit on your salad? If so, what are you favorite fruit salad combinations?

14 thoughts on “Early mornin’ sweat sesh

  1. Great job on getting in Body Pump early! I went to sleep at 8 PM and still woke up at my normal time, lol.

    One of my fave salads has strawberries/feta/raspberry balsamic/walnuts. It’s more of a summery salad though. Yours looks great!

  2. I LOVE BodyPump. Love it!! I hate missing it and tomorrow night I will have to. Boo!!
    Your salad looks delish! I like some fruit in certain salads, but don’t add it regularly.

  3. this is super crazy!! i have the exact same salad for lunch today (minus the blue cheese bc i forgot to buy some). so weird!

    i know what you mean about the strength training. I have yet to hit up a Body Pump class, but will next week, and I wanna see if my own strength training workouts have helped.
    I hate that plateau! I hope spicing things up and doing something different will help! 🙂

    Happy Monday, Linzi!

  4. I love how there’s a certain point in life where we stop paying attention to the numbers on the scale and really notice the difference in what our bodies can do! Well, maybe I don’t always forgive the scale but hey, I’m working on it! Great job for getting up at 5am!!!

  5. Other than the blue cheese (yuck!) that’s pretty much my favourite salad right there. Though I often use canned mandarin oranges in place of the apple, or strawberries. The poppyseed dressing is a nice pairing with fruit. I couldn’t imagine fruit with a ranch or italian type dressing. You need a little sweetness.

  6. Awesome job on the Pump class. You are getting STRONGER!

    That salad looks awesome… except the blue cheese. 🙂 I love spainch salads with various fruit/nuts and poppyseed dressing. De-lish!

  7. Way to go on the pump Class. I loved it but my current gym doesn’t have it.

    I use apples, pears, mango, strawberry, räspberry’ oranges in salads. So yes I use fruit in salads and love it

  8. That salad looks awesome! Well, except for the blue cheese cause I’m not a fan 😦 I love adding fruit to salad! I tend to use whatever I have on hand but I especially love grapes and raspberries for some reason!

  9. Pingback: Yesterday, part II « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

