Iowa Shred

I made it to IOWA! 🙂

I wasn’t sure if I was going to make it out of the Boise airport yesterday. My flight was over an hour and half late due to a snow storm in Denver (which is where I am heading at the end of the week…eeek).

I am actually in Iowa for work and couldn’t be more excited.

Upon my arrival to Des Moines last night, I was greeted by a dear friend. Her name is Abbey and she was once my boss back in the old Red Bull days. You can read a little Red Bull flash back here.

She gave me a sweet tour of the downtown area before we decided upon Court Avenue Brewing Company as our place to catch up on old times.

100_4182

Now, you all know that The Linz is quite the wine connoisseur but when I am in a place that brews their own beer I will not pass up the chance to try it out. I have had good luck with the ‘sampler flights’ of beer and opted for this as way to try all their beers.

Little did I know their flights are more than just a sample. More like a party in a glass!

100_4180

I was seriously in shock when my handle of beers came out. Well, what’s a girl to do? Like any good tourist, I sampled each and everyone of them. And managed to put back almost all of them.

100_4184

Not bad for a girl who loves wine?

100_4181

Cheers Abbey!

We ended staying out and talking until 11 pm. It was fun to reminisce about the fun times!

This morning however, was not as fun. I struggled to get my butt out of bed and squeeze in my first 30 day shred workout of the month.

100_4185No wonder my bag was so heavy… I didn’t think carting around the 2 5lbs weights would be such a big deal. But I knew I was going to get the use out of them.

100_4186Yes, I felt the burn. What a great way to start the morning!

100_4187

What types of exercises do you do while traveling?

10 thoughts on “Iowa Shred

  1. Wow, that is a lot of beer! Congrats on putting most of it away, lol! I’m usually a wine girl too, but I love me some beer too once in a while. I am much better about exercising when I’m traveling for work than I used to be. I always check hotel websites before I book, so that I can make sure I choose one with a workout facility!

  2. Holy beer! I’d be flat out for a week if I drank that – hahaha. I’m becoming more of a beer girl. I don’t like many of them, but most wines affect me badly now and I stay away for the most part.

    Good job on getting in the exercise. I always fall to my love of running and/or hiking while travelling. I pretty much don’t ever travel without my husband and we run/hike together so it’s always safe.

  3. That’s a lot of beer 🙂 I don’t like beer at all, like you I’m a wine lover!

    Impressed that you brought your weights and do the shred in your hotel room! Cool!

    Before I started running I did nothing on vacation. But we always walk a lot as we aren’t beach lovers. But nowadays if I can I bring my running stuff and try to run at least once or twice while on vacation and mostly because it’s fun to run somewhere else.

    Have a good trip.

  4. I love that picture of you with all of the beer. Way too cute!

    Good for you working out while on vacation! I always try to run while on vacation but strength training is an awesome idea too.

Leave a Reply

