Guest Post: Our First 5k

We all remember our first big race, right?

I know I will never forget my first 5k as I was instantly hooked on racing ever since. I thought it would be fun to feature a guest post on one of my favorite blogging duo’s first 5k experience.

I am very excited to introduce you to today’s guest bloggers Amanda & Andy from Two Boos Who Eat. Not only do these two run, but they also like to travel to fun places to try out new eats and drinks or make fun dishes at home to share. I am usually living vicariously through them on all their fun travels. Thank you Amanda & Andy for sharing your first 5k story!

***

Hello Destination 26.2 readers! We’re Amanda and Andy from www.twobooswhoeat.com

5168776372_6eb5ef3197

Linzi put the call out for guest posters and asked if Andy and I would share about our first 5k. We’re currently training for our next big race and are more than happy to share about our first 5k experience.

Our first 5k was the Deena Kastor 5k. The 5k was a part of a series of races. My dad ran a half marathon while we ran the 3.1 mile distance.

We started our training using the Couch to 5k program. I (Amanda) downloaded a podcast to help me train. The podcast simply tells you when to run and when to walk. I just googled “Couch to 5k podcast.”

amanda5k

I had to take a lot of walking breaks which made me feel crappy but I was able to finish the 5k in 37:23. Andy finished in 33:01. I was really impressed with Andy’s time. He ran pretty much the entire thing. I was huffing and puffing the whole time. I had been sort of lazy with my training and I paid dearly for it. If I can leave you new runners with any advice, it’s this: DO YOUR TRAINING! Follow the Couch to 5k program exactly and you’ll have no problem finishing strong. I really think it’s important to be completely prepared for a race, but I was okay without being prepared. It was just way harder than I ever imagined.

Couch to 5k: http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml This site really lays out the plan for you. It’s easy and fun to follow along with. I just input it into my google calendar so I didn’t forget to run.

I’ve done a total of 3 5ks and felt myself getting stronger every time. That is, until I developed runner’s knee. I took some time off running and am now slowly getting back into a running groove. I’m trying to get myself running at an 11 minute/mile pace. I plan on running my first half-marathon in June. I’m giving myself a long time to train because I want to take it easy on my knee. If you want to follow my training progress, follow me on Daily Mile! (http://www.dailymile.com/people/AmandaS4#ref=tophd) It’s such a fun site for runners.

If you want to read more about our first 5k, check out our post at (http://twobooswhoeat.com/2010/03/28/the-great-race-of-agoura-hills-deena-kastor-5k/)

Andy wrote about holding hands as we finish but it’s not happening. He is way too fast for me!

andy&amanda

What is one word to describe your first 5k experience (if you have had one)? Mine would be exhilarating!

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Our First 5k

  1. I love the advice “Do Your Training!”. That is simply thee best advice. No matter your pace or anything else, training is the one thing that will give you the most reward for your effort and make it so much more enjoyable.

    I’d say my first 5K experience was, ummmmm …. “eye-opening”. I learned ALOT that first race, more than I ever thought I would.

Leave a Reply

