Gym in a Room

Working out while traveling can be hard! I have had to really work at it to fit my workouts into my already crazy schedule.

What I have found while traveling is that you can get a great workout without even leaving your hotel room! Thank goodness!

I’m going to showcase a few of my Gym-in-a-Room Favorites!

100_4205

I told you earlier in the week that I brought along hand weights and Jillian’s 30 Day Shred workout dvd with me.

I love this because the dvd is only 20 minutes and can be done comfortably in your own hotel room.

100_4203

If you can’t bring along weights with you that’s not a problem, you are doing jumping jacks, butt kickers, sit-ups and push-ups enough to work up a sweat! You could probably use two soda pop cans for weights if you really needed to.

***

iPad & Phone Applications can be super awesome for hotel room workouts!

I recently downloaded this yoga app for my iPad and was able to practice yoga in my hotel room.

100_4210

100_4211

What I liked about this program is that each position was labeled by name and had a photograph showing the move. It also had complete written out instructions on each move.

100_4212

***

Hotel Room Bootcamp can rock your world! Do a few combinations of those oldie yet goodie exercises and you will be feeling it!

1: Step-Ups: Take the desk chair that is in your hotel room and use as your base for step-ups. Step onto chair with left leg, then follow by standing straight up on chair, then step back down. Do this exercise for 30 seconds to a minute.

2: Sit-ups: Do you remember my Abulous post? Well you don’t need a gym to work on your abs. You can clip your feet under the end of the bed and do regular old school sit-ups. You can lay on your back and prop your legs up on the side of your bed in a 90 degree angle and do sit-ups that way. You can even use a footstool as a ball to do crunches.

3: Air Squats: Stand with your feet shoulder width apart and make the motion that you are sitting down. Use your legs to pull yourself your back up.

4: Push-ups: Manly or girly- you don’t need a gym for this one. You can use a hotel towel for as a mat.

5: Calf Raises: Stand on one foot then lift to your tippy toes, and repeat. Once you have done a bunch on one foot, switch legs. You may also do this exercise with both fleet planted on the ground.

6: Mountain Climbers: Place hands on floor, slightly wider than shoulder width. On forefeet, position one leg forward bent under body and extend other leg back. While holding upper body in place, alternate leg positions by pushing hips up while immediately extending forward leg back and pulling rear leg forward under body, landing on both forefeet simultaneously.

7: Burpees: Place hands on floor, with legs extended behind you (similar to a manly push -up position). Jump your feet close to your hands, shoot up into a standing position. Then jump back down into original starting position. Repeat.

***

So as you can see, I have done The 30 day Shred workout, Yoga and even a mini-bootcamp all without even leaving my hotel room.

I loved these options because when you are traveling around and staying in a hotel room, you usually do not have a lot of extra time to get in your typical workout. So these mini hotel room workouts will satisfy that need to sweat it out and can instantly make you feel better.

I am heading to Denver tonight and will be doing my first post-marathon running race. Gobble Wobble 5k here I come! (There will be probably be more wobbling than running, but either way I’m super excited!)

Are you participating in any Holiday Races this year? If so, do you plan to dress up?

13 thoughts on “Gym in a Room

  1. great workout Linzi! thats awesome.
    i always get lazy on vacations or while travelling! but i am really proud of u!
    i wish there were yoga apps on blackberry!

    ooh post marathon race! that will be exciting!

  2. I love ipod/ipad/iphone apps!

    I wonder if I would be as motivated to work out if I was travelling for vacation… my last trip was San Diego a few years back and I just took the stairs all of the time and did all of my touring by walking and that was pretty much the extent of my workout. I like to think that if I was travelling on business I would do some kind of workout, be it a video or visit the hotel gym. I don’t ever travel for work though.

    Good luck on your race!

  3. Great post – these are super ideas for traveling! I am doing the annual Thanksgiving Day race in Cincinnati on Thursday morning. It’s a 10K, but I’m going to add a few miles. Afterward, there will be much guiltless turkey eating!

  4. Have fun at the Gobble Wobble and say hi to Meagan for me. Also, don’t forget to watch the game tonight on ESPN 2. Have a great trip!

  5. Excellent post Linzi. What it boils down to is if there is a will, there is a way! Good for you for finding the way.

    Enjoy your race this weekend. And Enjoy Denver. That’s a place/state I really want to visit sometime.

  6. Great write up! You are awesome. Good luck in your race, I am running a 5k in Austin thurs morning. Hadn’t thought bout dressing up but now I might just have to!

  7. Pingback: Cold Weather Blues « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

