Guest Post: Lessons in Life, Light & Zumba!

Happy Hump day!

One more day until Thanksgiving! Since you will be indulging in lots of turkey and delicious eats tomorrow I thought another fitness related guest post was in order.

So I turned to my good friend & fellow Idaho blogger Brittany for a guest post.

She blogs over at Lessons in Life and Light, where she has a beautiful way of capturing life with her words and through her camera lens! I’m so glad to call her my friend and share her guest post with you today.

***

Originally posted February 17, 2010

Yesterday was another hard day. I don’t know what it is with this year, but so far, I’m really not impressed. Normally on a day like that, I go home, get snuggled in on the couch, drink some wine and watch TV or read with my love. But yesterday I decided to channel my frustration into a work-out. I decided to try Zumba!

Linzi has talked about Zumba before and loves it. I emailed her and said, “Linz, I’m going to try Zumba for the first time tonight! I’m scared!” Going to any class for the first time is scary, whether it’s at school, at the gym, or somewhere else. So I knew I just had to make it through the first day.

My husband, being the good guy that he is, went to the gym with me to give me some support and get in his second work-out of the day (show-off).  The class filled up quickly and the instructor bounced in ready to get things started. The first three songs really kicked my butt. And I knew the rest of the class was going to be a challenge since all I could think about was how good a cold, frosty beer would taste right at that moment.

And then, something totally weird happened…

I think the instructor may have gone to my highschool.

And was a cheerleader.

Or spied on the cheerleaders during the Spring of 1997.

(What? It’s totally plausible.)

Because the routine we did to “Cotton Eye Joe” was step for step the routine we did back in highschool. I am seriously not kidding you. I looked around, waiting for someone to say, “Hey! Didn’t the Boise High cheerleaders perform that routine at the Spring pep-rally 13 years ago?” But no one did. So I figured, “Hey, I have a leg-up on these bitches,” and danced my cotton eye’d hiney off.

All in all the class was really fun! I especially liked the end when I got to break out some old ballet moves during the cool down. I really prefer much more controlled movements like that, which is probably why I love yoga so much. And I’m sure the girl behind me was relieved to get a break from having to watch anymore of my jiggly buns.

So what are your favorite kinds of workouts? Is there anything else I should try now that I’m a Zumba-master?

5 thoughts on “Guest Post: Lessons in Life, Light & Zumba!

  1. I have never tried Zumba… I just don’t think it’s my thing. I am not coordinated enough and have NO rhythm. I’m sure I would have fun, but would feel like a big idiot. 😛

    I prefer bootcamp and spin classes!

  2. I’ve been tempted to try zumba too. You hit the nail on the head that any new class is scary the first time.

    btw… I went to Boise High (and was a cheerleader sophomore year) too!

  3. I have heard so much about these classes. Just when I think Im ready to branch out into something new I find myself back in the comfort of my Bikram classes…Maybe its time to take a leap of faith…Great post Brittany

Leave a Reply

