Cold Weather Blues

Hello Blogworld!

Upon my return from 2 weeks of traveling to 4 different states, I sort of neglected my blogging responsibilities.

I was living out of a suitcase for nearly half the month of November and nothing yelled Home Sweet Home like my own bed and a little me time. 🙂

But now that I’m home I’ve been lacking motivation. I was super gung-ho to workout while I was on the road, but last night was the first night for me to even do anything physical since last friday.

I blame the weather.

I went from this in New Mexico….

100_4283

To this…. in Idaho

100_4287

I have the cold weather blues… and bad. 😦

I just need to make a plan for December as I did for November and all will be right in my world again.

So tomorrow I hope to be revealing a plan to get me through the bustling and indulgent holidays.

***

For now, I leave you with my final recap of The November Challenge.

I was to complete these workouts in 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1, fashion.

10: 10 miles run per week6 miles ran total + 3 miles walked in 5k

9: Ab work outsAccomplished 13 ab workouts!

8: Manly push-ups a dayOnly did this 7 times

7: J. Alabama Bootcamp weight training sessions – 8!

6: 30 day Shred work-outs2 shred workouts

5: Fight Fit Kickboxing classes: 2 classes

4: Weekend Cruiser bike rides: 0 (stupid rain & snow)

3: 5:30 am spin classes –  1 class

2:Yoga classes – 1 class

1: 5k Race – Gobble Wobble 5k (Denver, CO) Done!

Extra Credit: I did one personal training session at Treasure Valley Fitness & also attending a bodypump class.

How did it go?

Well I knew I wasn’t going to hit every goal, hence why some of them seemed a bit ambitious. But the ones I did accomplish left me super excited. I did 12 different strength training workouts last month. I am in utter shock that I accomplished that.

I feel good, but I would like to incorporate more cardio back into my routine.

With the Holiday Booty Buster Challenge keeping me motivated, I should be able to make it through the holidays without too much trouble. I just need to not let the snowy weather outside de-motivate me inside.

How do you motivate yourself to be physical when the weather is giving you the blues? I need some motivation and BAD!


12 thoughts on “Cold Weather Blues

  1. You need to get a really cute dog to motivate you. Huxley loves to play in the snow so he motivates me to get out and walk him even when it’s cold. He also likes to run to warm up since I can only put his sweater on when Dustin is gone. I miss you and we need to get together after finals! My schedule is crazy for the next two weeks with finals and traveling to Coeur d’Alene for work. We should have lunch soon.

  2. Is it bad that I think the weather in both those pictures is wonderful?? hahaaa

    You did pretty darn good on that goals list. Lots of strength training!!!

    The best motivation for me is setting attainable goals.

  3. I think you tackled your goal this very well… and I’m sure it pushed you to do a lot more than you would have WITHOUT the goals. Can’t wait to see what you have in mind for December.

    Oh, and welcome back. 🙂

  4. Why do you ask me that 😆 I haven’t workout on Tuesday and Wednesday because it was so freaking cold (much colder than normal in my country) so I guess I’m having the blues too. But I will go tomorrow, I’ve set goals this month that shouldn’t be too difficult to reach and that keeps me motivated this month. And I’m in the challenge too, it’s fun and it’s a motivation.

    Did you receive my package yet?

  5. Ugh I have the blues here in NY! We haven’t had snow yet but it’s been insanely windy and cold. Plus I came down with an icky cold so I feel you on the lack of motivation. Best way to get motivated is to just get back into it! I keep telling myself after 1 wk of workouts I’ll get into it hahaha

  6. Um, I’m going to attempt to stop complaining about how cold it is in the mornings here in LA after looking at your snowman picture. Attempt is the key word in that sentence 😉

  7. That is SO MUCH SNOW! Omg! I’m kind of jealous! We’re still green here but it’s certainly cold.

    I have been severly lacking in the motivation area too. I think, for me anyways, it’s just a matter of getting up and moving.

  8. That’s why you should move to Hawaii! (okay, only kidding) I’m having the opposite problem here, it’s December and still 80 degrees. I was sweating before even going out for my run this morning and wishing that I could feel a little chill. It is much, much easier to stay motivated though when the temperature is warm and the climate mild.

  9. Good job on your November goals – especially with all of that travelling! Try exercising every day, even if you make it small, like 10 minutes of stretching – a lot of days you’ll probably end up doing more. (At least that’s what I’m hoping for!)

Leave a Reply

