The Social Factor

Last night after work I engaged in one of my favorite non-running workouts. Spin Class!

phone 12.13.10 065

I’ve said this before and will happily say it again and again, but I love spinning so much! I really feel like it helps my running too.

It’s one of those workouts that leaves me re-energized and never sore afterwards. And usually helps me to find rhythm breathing, so when I run I actually breath better.

I probably wouldn’t have gone without a little nudge from Jen. We met during marathon training, and she ran the Nike Marathon as her first marathon too!

phone 12.13.10 064

Lookie, she was even wearing her Nike Marathon Finisher shirt! Apparently we both had the same idea. As I was rocking  my Nike Tank too!

phone 12.13.10 068

Nothing like a good spin sesh right after work. I hear at least 3 more points being added to the Holiday Bootie Buster Challenge. Cha-Ching!

I have to say that I am super thankful to have so many running/workout buddies in my life. It really helps to keep me accountable. It also gives me another reason to workout. The social factor!

It’s like killing two birds with one stone. You get a good workout, but you are also spending time with friends. Love it!

Do you do the majority of your workouts solo or with a buddy?

These days, it’s sounding like I’m everyone’s workout buddy. In the last week I have posted about working out with with my mom, J. Alabama and now Jen!

***

Keeping to the Nike Marathon Theme… I have some really really super freaking awesome jump out of your chair and scream news.

A little something something came for me in the mail yesterday. An early Christmas present maybe? 😉

Or maybe it was something that was just a wee bit late. Better late than NEVER I always say. Especially when we are talking about this little blue box.

100_4395

100_4400

Did you guess what it might be?

This signature blue box holds none other than my official marathon medal! *insert shrieks of joy here*

100_4401

100_4402

Yup, it’s the real deal folks. I can now officially celebrate my victory of running my very first marathon. As this little necklace is proof and a remembrance of all that was endured this past summer.

100_4410

As I was sharing the news with J. Alabama via the telephone, I started to tear up. I was re-living the moments of crossing the finish line and the fact that I freaking ran 26.2 miles.

Less than 2 years ago I had never even owned a pair of running shoes. And now I can proudly wear this medal around my neck and be proud of how far I have come and what I have accomplished.

It’s truly unbelievable. And the feeling of putting this necklace around my neck reassured me that this wouldn’t be my last medal. Oh no. My adventures have only just begun!

I honestly was just as excited to open the little blue box yesterday as if it were still October 17th, and I was just crossing that finish line. My emotional self didn’t care that almost two months time has passed. I’m just happy to have this baby safe in my possession.

Yay for the marathon bling! 🙂

14 thoughts on “The Social Factor

  1. yay for marathon bling! that is awesome. that is a very nice necklace.

    i wish i had more workout buddies. I only have 1 and we work totally different hours so its really hard to run or workout together.

    ive been really bad lately. i have not been to the gym since last thursday…..:(
    i have no motivation and its soooo friggin cold outside. i just wanna lay in bed and read.

    congrats on all the motivation that you have to get out there and do it!

  2. Yay for your Tiffany’s necklace! That’s almost even better that you got it later, made the post- marathon high last a little longer : ) Also, now you have two necklaces, right!?

  3. Awesome Spin!

    I would say that about one third of my workouts (runs) are social. I love it! I also lvoe that the majority of my friends are runners.

    Congrats on the official bling – that is beauty!

  4. Behold! The little blue box! I’m sure you’ll always cherish that piece of jewelry. You’ve earned it.

    I’ve always enjoyed working out solo (it’s kind of my “me” time), but lately I’m everyone’s workout buddy too!

  5. Congratulations! You deserve to re-celebrate and it’s awesome that you have something so cool to mark such a monumentous occasion!

  6. Aww, I’m so happy for you that your necklace finally arrived. I still think it’s despicable that they ran out at the race.

    I ♥ exercising with buddies. Sometimes I’m lucky enough to have my hubby join me. Lately I’ve done most of my running with a friend. I have done alot of working out on my own though, which I don’t mind, but it does take a bit to get used to working out with someone. You have to be quite compatible to run for 4 hours with someone. 🙂 I do like to workout alone once in a while.

  7. That necklace is so cool! It’s great it finally arrived. I can imagine it made you relieve your finish at the marathon again.

    I always workout alone which I don’t mind. I prefer it that way. I did do some classes in the past with my best friend and that was fun too but especially the running I’d rather do alone.

  8. Congrats on finally getting that medal – you definately earned it! I’m still sorry I didn’t get a chance to meet you while we were both in San Fran, but I’m sure there will be other chances. I love the Nike tank by the way, but it’s prolly a good thing I didn’t see that one at NikeTown or I prolly would have brought it home with me with everything else in that store!

Leave a Reply

