Happy Panda Christmas

I hope you all had a wonderful weekend full of good food and family fun. I know I sure did!

As I mentioned last week, the cooking commenced bright and early on Christmas Eve morning.

We had glasses of red to inspire us through the lasagna making process. Aka as “WINE AT NINE!”

100_4476

We were busy cooking and prepping for our Christmas Eve feast all day.

We snuck in a little Veg-Nog break around 3pm just before the guests started to arrive.

If you haven’t tried Angela’s Vegan Nog, you are surely missing out on a delicious and delightful treat.

100_4478

100_4480

Veg-Nog is a cross between a smoothie and egg nog. As it has an egg-noggy texture but a rich smoothie taste. But there was not a trace of eggs. Crazy!

100_4485

Let’s just say that we went for the full bourbon addition and enjoyed every last drop of this drink.

Then we put out the spread and waited for the fam to arrive.

100_4500

It was hard not to over snack as the lasagna was coming up next.

Before:

100_4486

After:

MMMMMMMmmmmmMMMMM! 🙂 Look at those layers!

100_4513

It was as tasty as it looks. Another Lasagna success!

After dinner we opened presents and enjoyed each other’s company. Here are a few gifts that I received.

I can definitely see a lot of use out of this gift. I seriously cannot wait to crack into it and whip up some hummus or something!

100_4514

Now onto my cork board. Not just any corkboard, but one made purely from wine corks.

And not only does this look pretty bad ass, but my Aunt actually made this herself. She placed and glued every cork.

100_4515 I was absolutely in love with this gift. It screams “The Linz” for sure!

One last gift to showcase, because I love J. Alabama and he loves me. He loves me enough to go to Build a Bear and make me a panda!

100_4516

If you didn’t know this about me, I LOVE pandas.

Like LOVE LOVE LOVE them. They are the funniest and cutest animals. When I’m having a saaddd pandaaa kind of day, I YOU TUBE baby panda videos and can’t help but laugh at how darn cute they are.

So J. Alabama bought me a panda and recorded his voice into it. So when I’m having a bad day I can click his paw and he will say..

I love Linzi! And I’m tasty and almost extinct”

Don’t worry, I don’t eat panda and never will. That part is supposed to be funny because J.Alabama and I are funny like that. He teases me that panda bears are tasty. I say no, no they are not.

***

Okay, one more recipe to showcase and rave about.

I changed Christmas morning tradition and made Mama Pea’s Vegan Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls.

100_4507

To. Die. For.

I prepped them in between making lasagna and veg-nog and was so excited to just pop them into the oven on Christmas morning.

I will share with you later this week, our traditional Christmas breakfast, but I think the cinnamon rolls are a fun addition.

***

Did you get to test any new recipes? How’d they turn out?

I was very impressed with the Vegan-Nog and Cinnamon Rolls and would definitely make them both again. When looking for fun Christmas recipes I went straight to the blog world in search of the perfect recipe. I think I done good! 🙂

Happy Monday Friends! Make the last few days of 2010 the best as a new year is almost here!

8 thoughts on “Happy Panda Christmas

  1. You’ve had some great days Linzi! I love the gift J. Alabama gave you and the one your aunt made for you.

    I didn’t try new recipes at Christmas, relied on the ones I knew that would be tasty. But one of my goals is to try one new recipe each week in 2011.

  2. I love how your family does the holidays 😀

    Okay, too funny that you love pandas. My college girlfriends and I always refer to ourselves as being “sad pandas”, “angry pandas”, “happy pandas”, and so on. It started when my friend was student teaching and one of her little kids said that he wished he were a panda because they eat and sleep and eat and sleep but he can’t because he was born a boy. It’s not funny to anyone but else but it’s fun 🙂

  3. LOVE the concept of Wine @ 9! It’s something that sounds just like my family 😀

    Looks like a fun time was had and lots of delish food consumed! That lasagna looks to die for, seriously!

    That panda is too cute.

    Happy Holidays to you and your family!

Leave a Reply

