My New Running Group

 

On Saturday morning I met up with my new Robie Creek Running Group.  

100_4625

Look behind my brother J.Bomb and you can see ALL the people that showed up.

It was a pleasant surprise when I walked into a room of over a hundred people. Nothing like a huge group of people to get you motivated to run one of the hardest half marathons in the Northwest.

I mentioned a few weeks ago that I had lost my running spark, but low and behold it’s back friends! The feeling of meeting TONS of new running buddies and the cold crisp air on my face as I ran my first run with the group left me energized and excited.

100_4627

My training group started the morning off with a 2 mile run. It was very cold which made my lungs hurt a bit, but I just ran through it.

100_4626

We ran in an area that was so near and dear to my heart. The path was the same path I trained for my marathon. Nothing like getting all sentimental while I huffed and puffed up my first hill of the season.

100_4628

I haven’t done a whole lot of running since my marathon (something like 28 miles over the last 2.5 months) so this run felt hard. But I know that the first cold run is always the hardest. And I wasn’t about to look back.

I rocked 2 miles in under 23:00 minutes. I was happy with that.

100_4629

I was even happier because I am training in this group with my brother and his girlfriend Abby. It’s so fun to have family members to run with. I think my running craziness has finally worn off on them. And honestly it was Abby that really encouraged me to do this running group with them.

So glad I did! I always feel better and more motivated when I am training for something and I have people to train with. 

And the other perk to this running group is this….

100_4630

They will give you a quick massage after the group run. Oh man, you can’t beat that!

***

A wedding update:

For all you lovely readers who are curious, we picked a date. Yup, The Linz is officially tying the knot on July 23, 2011!

I can’t even believe that it’s so close, but I couldn’t be more excited right now. We have a venue for our wedding, we have a date for our wedding and now it’s time for all the fun coordination stuff! And another wedding show this weekend to check out! 🙂

17 thoughts on “My New Running Group

  1. Congrats on setting the date! Just 6 months away! YAHOO! Let the countdown begin!!! 🙂

    So excited that you have a new group to train with! And post-run massages??? I KNEW my trainig group was lacking something!!

  2. omg, lots to say!
    1. yay for joining the running group. thats awesome that u r running ur brother and his gf.
    2. i know what u mean about 2 miles feeling hard. its like that for me too.
    3. yay for massages! thats awesome
    4. July 23rd is just around the corner. cannot wait to see how everything turns out.
    5. ur hair is getting very long…

  3. Awesome!!! You guys picked a date! how exciting! Great job on the running group also. I’m a chicken of running outside during the super cold winter. I’m going to try and test myself this Saturday though.

  4. A Summer wedding, can’t wait to see the pics and follow your preparations for it.

    The running group sounds fun (like the one you joined before). But you say there were over 100 people, do you all run together or are they split up in smaller groups?

    This time it definitely will be fun to train with your brother and his girlfriend.

    • We are all training for different distances (5k, 10k, half-marathon). But we all run at the same time, just some finish before others. So there is LOTS of people running!

  5. OMG – I can’t wait to hear all the details – I so LOVE weddings. 🙂

    Yay for new running groups – I would love to join one in my area but none are here on the days I can run. Looks like a LOT of fun though!

  6. Wow–your wedding is coming up fast! It sounds like you have a great start to the wedding planning, with choosing a date and venue. Definitely book a photographer soon! I can’t wait to continue reading about your wedding planning, as well as your adventures with your new running group.

  7. Pingback: The Dress, Part 1 « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  8. Pingback: Running on Sunshine « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

