The Save The Date Fiasco

Today’s post is part of an ongoing Wedding Wednesday Series. My chance to ramble on about non-running, wedding related stuff.

***

I haven’t really had too many “bridzilla-y” moments yet. At least I like to think I have not.  I did come close, and it had to with Save The Dates.

SAVE.THE.DATES. I know, crazy right?

With such a short time to plan all the intricate details of a wedding, when half of our families live far far away, every detail is important. And it’s easy to get a little crazy about anything and everything.

So Save The Dates have been on my mind since January 1st.

Yes, you read that right. I was engaged for less than 24 hours and I was already worried about how we would let our out-of-town guests know about our wonderful day.

Come New Year’s day I sat perusing the world-wide web looking for Save The Date ideas and came across one that boggled my mind. It was simply ah.maz.ing. But when I finally received a response on the price per card I was floored. It was $5.00-6.00 per card.

Ugh!

I’m all about informing the fam on what’s up, but sorry fam, $5.00 per card is better spent on the alcohol budget. Or better yet, the photo booth. 😉

So I quickly dismissed the idea and went on to scope out ideas on etsy, and came across this one.

What I liked about it was, the fact that they could be done for $1.00 each, and the fact that they went along with my photobooth theme. As I will be having a fun photobooth at my reception.

So needless to say, I was stoked and excited and already in the mindset to get these babies going.

Then, nearly one week later I received a beautiful Save The Date in the mail from a couple of my best friends, who happen to be getting married just a month before us.

My jaw dropped to the floor when I pulled out their PhotoBooth Style Save the Date. At first I was upset, then I was laughing hysterically. Seriously?

What I love about this, is that these friends are two of my best friends in the whole world. And honestly, I couldn’t be anything but happy for them. And great minds think alike, right?! 🙂

My mother reassured me over a bridzilla-y phone call that all would be okay. As right then and there my happy attitude was back, and we were now on a mission to figure how to make the original save the dates without selling my future first-born.

So with a little planning and help from my friend Amy over at  GreenSky Graphics (she’s the one who did my awesome blog header), I was back on track for Save The Dates and even well on my way with the Invitations.

All was well in brideland again. As the original save the dates were what I really really wanted in the first place. 🙂

Since I’m a sucker for suspense and due to the mere fact our Save The Date is still in the designing process, you will just have to wait until the Save The Date Assembly Party to see pics. Because these lovelies are going need my entourage plus some to put together.

Yup.  I surely don’t know how to keep it simple. But in a way…these are going to be pretty DIY (do it yourself) and pretty awesome!

So the Save the Date Fiasco, was not really a fiasco at all, but an opportunity to get creative and use my resources.

Score!

For all you Brides out there, did your inner bridezilla ever strike? Was it over something silly?  Just curious! 🙂

14 thoughts on “The Save The Date Fiasco

  1. heh, my inner bridezilla struck on the day OF the wedding. My florist dropped off the flowers and my MOH signed off on them. Counting them out, we were short a bridesmaid bouquet. I called the florist and she got all snippy- “you only told me this number blabla” and I said LOOK- I don’t care what I told you, the fact remains is that we need another bouquet. My photog even caught the moment. Ha. She whipped up a quick bouquet and all was well 🙂

    Your Save the Dates sound awesome!

  2. Aww, that’s just a minor moment. No biggie.

    I don’t think I had any bridezilla moments. I got married quite young (19) and all I cared about was actually getting married, not the details. I honestly couldn’t have cared less if I had flowers or fancy cake or anything so there was really nothing to have a spazz about.

  3. I have had a few bridezilla moments and the one that made me the most mad was picking out our wedding date. We were set on a date and it was going to be amazing 11.11.11. It fit with the Cuba timeframe to avoid rainy season but my family-in-law decided it wasn’t a good date. I was mad and I am still mad to this day as I now have to share my 30th b-day and my wedding day one week apart! I was hoping for a big party for my 30th now it won’t happen.

    All I can say is make decisions together and don’t try to make everyone happy, it won’t work! 🙂

  4. That’s funny that your best friends had the same idea for the Save the date (not common here by the way) but glad you found something else that will be great too.

    I’m not married so I have no stories to tell you 🙂

  5. Great minds think alike I guess! Can’t wait to see the finished product 🙂

    My only mini-‘zilla moment was when, about 20 minutes before we got into the limo, one of my bridesmaids came down in her dress and it turns out she had ordered the wrong color dress. It wasn’t glaringly obvious — it was a different shade of green than the other dresses, but still green — but all I could do in the moment was look at her for a second, say “that’s the wrong color”, and go back to my bagel 🙂

  6. I love the photobooth idea! My fiance and I decided to skip the Save the Date cards to cut down on costs, plus my mom included a little blurb about the wedding in her annual Christmas letter. We figured that would be good enough. 🙂

    The only ‘zilla-like moment I’ve had so far during my wedding planning occurred when my mom and I were making the flower bouquets (we made all the bouquets and boutonnieres out of artificial flowers). They were not turning out the way I had envisioned them, and I got so frustrated I started crying. I went for a run, and during my run I had an idea. After I came back and showered, I tried out my idea and it worked!

  7. oh yes! My inner bridezilla came out when my parents tried to talk the DJ into playing a bunch of random songs like that “Butterfly Kisses” song, which I HATE! Luckily it didn’t happen!

  8. Pingback: The Story J. Alabama « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  9. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday Connection « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  10. Pingback: Tying the Knot « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  11. Pingback: The Paper « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

