V-Day Success!

I hope you all had a great Valentine’s Day!

My gift to myself was hitting up a sweet spinning class after work.

012

It was the perfect start to a perfect night. The sweat sesh, was needed and felt so good!

Shortly after my spin class I set the Love Scene at my apartment for J. Alabama. We had late dinner reservations, so I thought a little romantic wine and chocolate strawberries would be a nice surprise.

100_4814

When he walked in and there were candles lit and the pop love station on Pandora playing. (Okay maybe he wasn’t so thrilled about the Pandora station, but it set the mood).


100_4819

At one point he handed me this card, and before I opened it explained that it was ironic. I was really confused until I realized that the song playing on Pandora was the same song as in the card – Taylor Swift’s Romeo & Juliet.

100_4821

Funny Side Note: We picked out our DJ last weekend and he had expressed his huge dislike for Taylor Swift and I had sort of put up a fight about it. So him picking out the TS card, made me laugh. And to realize that TS was playing on Pandora at the same time was even funnier.

We enjoyed our wine and chocolate covered strawberries and arrived at Barbacoa for our special Valentine’s Day dinner. Did I mention that it was 4 courses?! Oh my!

100_4830

Upon walking to our table, the floor was covered in rose petal and the smell of roses tantalized my nose. The restaurant was breathtaking and elaborate. I felt like I was in Vegas.

100_4831

Our table was covered in candy hearts and rose petals too.

Our first appetizer came out and it was trio of deliciousness. We tried a duck flauta, a crab empanada, and barbacoa croquettes. And the presentation was beautiful too.

100_4833

Next up was my Prawn Caesar Salad Wedge. It was dredged in pine nuts and sprinkled with Parmesan.

100_4834

Then came the main course – I was so stuffed at this point I could only devour one scallop and few gnocchi. This dish had the most amazing combination of flavors. There were cooked figs, mixed with pieces of prosciutto. And the green blobs, were actually a pea purree that had a garlicy, yet cayenne peppery kick.

Truly mouth watering and rich. I know it doesn’t sound like all of these flavors would mesh, but they did. 🙂

100_4836

And then came dessert! A yummy and light chocolate raspberry souffle’. It came with a side of homemade whip cream and a drizzle of hazelnut milk. And how cute are the tuxedo strawberries?

100_4839

I thought the night couldn’t get any better, until a dozen roses were delivered to my table with a card from J. Alabama.

100_4841

I seriously had such a great V-day. I was gushing over my flowers and the food and everything, and yet another mini dessert platter came out with “The Damage”. LOL.

100_4844

We immediately boxed the treats up for another day. There was NO way I could eat any more food.

It was such a fun night and it was so fun to spend it with my future hubs!  I love being able to say that! Our first and last V-day as fiance’s.

And honestly, I’m super glad I hit up that spin class prior to our dinner. I don’t know if I would have made it through. Seriously!

***

P.S. This was my first attempt at really food blogging. Though it was fun, I don’t think I’m cut out for it. It made me really nervous to take pictures of everything I ate, and it was hard to remember all the courses and flavors and everything. But the plates of food were so pretty, I had to give it a shot.
What is your take on food blogging?

I actually like to read food blogs, but I don’t think I could blog about food all the time and keep it interesting.

11 thoughts on “V-Day Success!

  1. You guys are so romantic! What a perfect evening for two. The food looks FANTASTIC and gorgeous flowers. You both looked great!

    I’m not a food blogger either… it’s hard to remember and I always feel silly taking the pics (nor am I any good at it), although I LOVE to read food blogs and even casual posts like this one documenting a good meal. I think I just love food! 🙂

  2. Drooling over all of the food pictures! Sounds like you had an amazing Valentine’s day 🙂 I love food blogging but don’t do it all the time. Only for special meals or if I made a fabulous recipe. I think you did a great job though!

  3. Aw looks like you guys had an amazing time! That looked like it was a super romantic Valentines Day!

    And that food looks amazing!

    For me when it comes to food blogging, I read some food blogs too but documenting everything I eat isn’t for me. I’ll do random recipes that I make at home, but I’m too self concious to photograph food in restaurants!

  4. Oh YUM, that dinner looks amazing. Very special evening you two had.

    I could never be a food blogger either. My pics would be boring, my food would be boring and about as deep as I get would be “it tasted really good”. 🙂 But you did a good job!

  5. this is my 4th time trying to read this post. i keep getting rudely interupted by work. lol

    ur vday sounds amazing. the food look soo beautiful and delicious. and ur and j.A looks so happy! yay for loooove! 🙂

    ya that spin class was a good idea. hahahha. i wish i did something yesterday morning.

  6. This is by far the most romantic Valentine’s Day I’ve read about in blogland! If I would celebrate it, it would have to be like this!

    I love that you took pictures of the food, it all looks so delicious!

    I’ve started taking pics of my dinners this week again and that’s all I’m doing. I have no intention to take a pic of every meal I eat. I love taking pics at dinner dates the most because the plates are sometimes an art with all the food on it.

    I don’t want to become a food blogger, the pics of my dinners are just an add to my blog which is about my everyday life as you know.

  7. What a romantic Valentine’s Day! The food from Barbacoa looks amazingly good!

    I’ve blogged about delicious meals that either my fiance or I have made, but that’s about it.

  8. What a sweet v-day! I have a soft spot for Taylor Swift. On the way to church on my wedding day, the radio in the limo started playing “Today is a Fairytale.” It was super appropriate 😀

    I think you did a really great job in describing the food and the restaurant. I noticed that it was different from your usual style and then you qualified it at the bottom. Anyway, you rocked it!

Leave a Reply

