The Story J. Alabama

 

Today’s post is part of an ongoing Wedding Wednesday Series. My chance to ramble on about non-running, wedding related stuff.

***

In honor of V-day just a few days ago, I thought I would finally tell the story of J. Alabama and I.

It’s funny about J. Alabama and I, because we actually knew each other for a while before we ever actually started dating. He moved from New Mexico to Idaho about 4 years ago to be closer to his grandparents and found out that a friend from his highschool lived here. His friend happens to also be my good friend and sorority sister! 

So J. Alabama and I had camped together with our mutual friends, met up at bars, and hung out at the same parties for roughly two years before we ever dated. We even both dressed up as Little Red Riding Hood one year for Halloween. LOL.

He was often referred to as one of the “New Mexico boys”. As he had convinced his brother and a few friends from back home to also make the trek back to Boise.

But there was one night that stands out so perfectly in my mind.

This one perfect night in April of 2009 started out as any other night would. My girlfriends and I were ready to go out on the town and have a good time. We decided to stop by the “New Mexico House” to pick up one of the boys to take with us. Upon arriving and inviting ourselves in, we found J. Alabama and coerced him into coming along with us.

We ended up going down to The Cactus, a dive bar with cheap and strong drinks. Over the course of the evening J. Alabama and I flirted and he proceeded to buy me lots of drinks.

The drink of the evening was the Cock Gobbler. Ahh yes, with a name like that who wouldn’t want one! The Cock Gobbler is a combination of Wild Turkey & Orange Juice – and well friends, it sounds horrible, but honestly doesn’t taste too bad.

Anyways, several Cock Gobbler’s later we all ended back up at the New Mexico house for the after-party.

All I remember is that at some point everyone had left the kitchen and J. Alabama went in for the kill. He kissed me. It was one of those truly passionate and intense kisses. 🙂

The rest of the night was a blur, but I do recall him asking me if I would like to go on a date sometime.

Of course I said yes. And the next day he actually called. Not even a day went by and he called to ask me out the following evening.

With butterflies in my stomach, I agreed. I was surprised that he called so soon, and surprised that he wanted to go out so soon. No games whatsoever. Just a real guy who wanted to take me on a real date.

I know I said we knew each other, but honestly the dive bar night was one of the first nights I recall really getting to know J. Alabama.  So the nerves were still there, and the fact that it may not work out was real too.

We went out to Vietnamese for dinner the following evening. He picked me up like a gentleman, opened doors, pulled out chairs… (which by the way he still does after almost 2 years). We talked all through dinner without a problem.

It was one of those dates that seemed to go off without a hitch. I was nervous but our connection calmed me down. I was being ME around him. I felt comfortable.

So needless to say, that crazy random night started the Chapter of J. Alabama and I. I owe it to Cock Gobblers, I owe it to J. Alabama for agreeing to come dive barring with us, and I owe to myself for giving love a chance.

It’s funny how one night can seriously change your life. But it did.

So CHEERS to that!

Most couples have a “song”, we have a “drink”. LOL! 🙂  

***

Have you missed any past Wedding Wednesday posts?

17 thoughts on “The Story J. Alabama

  1. It’s so funny that one night changes things =) My now husband and I were to meet up for our first date (we met online), and I waited forever, then thinking he stood me up, left. He called me while I was driving home, and said he had been waiting and could I please come back. Well, I decided to, and voila, 4 years later we got married =) I LOVE happy stories! Yours is a great one!

  2. What a great story! I love it! 🙂

    My fiance and I had one of those aha moments, too. Mark kissed me on New Year’s in 2008. We dated for a few months, broke up, got back together several months later, and now we’re getting married.

  3. What a cute story! Sorry, I still don’t buy that the cock gobbler can be anything but hideous tasting- it has wild turkey in its (shudders). Though I guess it is sweet since it brought you two together, in a way 😉

  4. Pingback: Wedding Wednesday Connection « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  5. Pingback: Gearing up for Robie « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  6. Pingback: The Experiment: Day 3 « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

