Pi-yo!

So being the gym-adventurous girl that I am I tried yet another new class at my gym.

If you remember I tried out Body Flow for the first time a few weeks ago and have fallen in L-O-V-E with it!

So you can imagine my excitement when my friend Michelle aske me if I wanted to try a class called Pi-Yo. I immediately said “Pi-YES!”

Then I had to go to the website and look up the definition of the class. Pi-Yo sounded like it would be a combination of pilates and yoga, but the description sounded more bodyjam dance class-esque mixed with body pump.

PiYo™  is a unique class designed to build strength & gain flexibility. The moves fit perfectly together to form a class filled with intense choreography that’s fun, challenging and will make you sweat. It’s about energy, power, and rhythm.

Well upon arriving to class I noticed the set-up was similar to that of the Bodyflow class. They like to rock the double crossed yoga mats. Cool.

Then class started. Oh man, was this class intense.

It was way more yoga-y than I thought. Imagine transitioning from downward dog to plank like a million times. Oh yeah, then throw in about 10 minutes of straight Jane fondas (can we say major ass cramp-age?)  – Similar to the picture below, minus the really awesome 80’s workout out attire.

Then throw in some balancing routines & ab workouts that left me shaking.

Needless to say, that by the end of it I was sweating and yelping from all the pain. This was one of the hardest yoga-ish classes I have ever done.

But I can attest that it worked my body and core and I liked that about it.

So my overview is this…if I want a good after run stretch kind of class, I will do Bodyflow. If I want to rock my core and get my ass kicked in yoga I will do Pi-Yo.

Whew! Glad I have that all figured out now.

***

Is it hard for you to want to take a class after knowing it will kick your butt?

I’m of the mindset that if I know it’s going to be really hard, I’m a little bit apprehensive at first.  Then I buck up and realize I’m going to get a good workout and make myself do it. I usually don’t regret my descision afterwards.

9 thoughts on “Pi-yo!

  1. I think I would only go to a class if I knew it would kick my butt! That’s the kind of workout that I both want and need so I feel as though it’s a good use of my time!

    I wish 80’s workout gear would come back, how awesome was it?! lol. Ok maybe not to leo/unitards but for sure the leg warmers!

  2. Sounds like a great class! Too often classes I take leave me a bit disappointed, so if I find one (or an instructor) who kicks my ass I am way more apt to go. I hate to pay for classes that don’t give me much of a workout. Waste of money AND time.

  3. sounds intense and fun! yay!
    i love all classes. and i love trying new class. in the next few weeks, im going to a class called spynga – spin and yoga. so excited! and i know it will kick my ass but i am not afraid! lol

  4. That sound like a class I would love to do too. Never heard of it before but it sounds great.

    I have to say that I at my previous gym never took the body attack class because they said it was very hard and I wasn’t in the shape/condition I am today back then. So I was scared that I couldn’t keep up and never tried it.

  5. Pingback: One Sweaty Week « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  6. Pingback: Springing into April « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  7. Pingback: Pil-OWW-tes « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

