The Green Patty Monster

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!

In the spirit of St. Patty’s Day I thought I would showcase a new smoothie.

100_5049

It’s been quite awhile since I shed some smoothie love on you all and felt a green monster would be best done up on St. Patty’s day.

You know, the day of green.

So the first thing I thought of when I wanted to make my St. Patty smoothie creation was how can I mix an avocado and basil into my monster.

I dunno where that combination came from — I guess because they are both green.

I googled it to see if it had been done and it sort of had here.

I also referred to Angela’s Vegan Nog for inspiration.

But here is my version.

The Green Patty Monster

100_5052

  • 1/2 frozen avocado (peeled and pitted)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • 2/3 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 heaping handfuls of spinach
  • 10 sprigs of fresh basil
  • Squirt of maple syrup
  • Squeeze of lemon

100_5044

100_5051

Aftermath: Messiest smoothie ever!

100_5059

Verdict on the avocado and basil combo….

Well honestly it had the perfect smoothie texture. It was smooth and creamy. It probably could have used a little more sweetness to it.

But it was definitely not weird mixing basil and avocado into my morning smoothie. I would like to experiment more with the avocado mainly for the texture it gave my smoothie!

And in case you missed it last year, here is some link love to my awesome Good Luck Green Monster creation.

Equally as delicious.

***

Now let the Shaking of your Shamrock’s begin!

Today marks day number 1 of Aneta & I’s Shake Your Shamrock Virtual Run!

Those of you who signed up have until Sunday at 6pm (MST) to run either 7k or 13k and send in your finishing time.

As an added bonus, those of you crazy runners who may want to embark on both (yes both 7k & 13k) distances, can do so for an added entry to win a great prize from either Aneta or I.

Don’t forget to wear green, and send us a picture of you!!

Please email all finishing times & optional photos to both Aneta and I before Sunday at 6pm (confessionsofarunner at gmail dot com & destination26.2 at gmail dot com).

Good Luck!

* * *

Do you have any crazy fun St. Patty’s plans for tonight?

My St. Patty’s celebration will involve a sweet bodyflow sesh followed by a nice run on the shredmill. And then maybe after I will indulge in a nice cold Guinness. 🙂

10 thoughts on “The Green Patty Monster

  1. Oooh, avocado sounds like a GREAT idea for a creamy smoothie! Will have to try that. I’ll be having a green monster tonight!!

    (after I shake my shamrock!!)

  2. I have to say that your smoothie sounds gross. Probably because I don’t like avocado very much. When you make me a smoothie like you’ve been promising, please no avocado :). The color was good though and it did look creamy.

  3. basil and avocado. as much as i like them outside of smoothies, i dont know about in the smoothie. i will have to experiment!

    good luck with ur run!
    have a happy st. patty’s day!

  4. Ick! I’m not a green monster fan to begin with, but add in avocado and basil … I’m running for the hills. HAHAHA Glad you enjoyed it though.

    Gonna try to get a 7K run in tonight, then the 13 this weekend. I’m signed up for the 13 but should be able to squeeze the 7 in too.

  5. That looks gross. I’m sorry! I see these green monsters all over the bloggy world and I have to admit, I gag a little when I see them. I know I know, I’m judging before I actually taste it. I should give it a whirl before saying bad things

Leave a Reply

