Running on Sunshine

Saturday morning I met up with my old running group.

Remember how I joined up with a running group back in January? Well since my bro and his gf had to drop out due to running related injuries I kind of neglected that particular group.

I know myself all too well and knew I needed a little motivation to get me through my 12 miler. So I opted to join back up with the old running group.

001

I’m so glad that I went. It was nice being able to start this long run with the group and to feel the excitement for our upcoming Robie race.

Saturday’s run was a sort of “mock half-marathon” for the group. So there was a lot of excitement in the air when we began our run.

002

As you can see in the first photo, the day started off with blue skies and warm temps. That lasted for our about 5 miles.

Then it started to rain.

It wasn’t so bad until the buckets started flooding down on me and the winds whipped through the air. I was drenched and all my muscles were freezing up.

003

I remember reaching mile 10, where I just wanted to give up. I was seriously ready to just walk the next two miles in the freezing cold and wind because I was just done.

Then the song “Walking on Sunshine” came on.

This song always reminds me of my Aunt and there was no way I couldn’t smile when I heard it. I noticed the rain started to die down a little and the air became warm again. As if the sun was trying to come out.

It was crazy, but I had the urge to bust through this mental block. I booked it for the next two miles. Running faster than I had all day.

It totally brought me out of my little rainy cold funk. And then the bagels at the finish line didn’t hurt either.

008

Garmina died in the rain, but I estimate I finished the 12 miles in around 2.5 hours. 🙂

***

My running lesson of the day: Know Yourself.

I am often struggling to find motivation to run long runs alone. And I knew there was no way I was going to run 12 miles in the cold by myself.

So I figured out a way to make the run happen. Even if it meant randomly joining a running group whom I have not been running with for almost 2 months.

It was the best feeling in the world to feel like I succeeded.

So my running motivation mantra for the day was: Set yourself up to succeed. Every single time. No matter what.

Happy Monday Bloggies!! 🙂

12 thoughts on “Running on Sunshine

  1. ..this was the song that was playing when we came into Time Square during the NYC half marathon…nothing like a bunch of people singing along with that.
    Great job on the run!

  2. Pingback: Social Workout-er « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  3. Aww, now I have that song stuck in my head!

    Way to power through! The rain can be really discouraging, but you found your sunshine.

    I am bummed your bro and his gf had to drop out. Are they ok?

Leave a Reply

