#FianceFail

 

Today’s post is part of an ongoing Wedding Wednesday Series. My chance to ramble on about non-running, wedding related stuff.

***

As I have been planning a wedding and trying to be a good partner to J. Alabama, never in my wildest would I imagine that I would have a #FianceFail moment.

You see, it all started out so innocently back in early January.

I was excited that we were engaged and then I spouted off my mouth about Save The Dates and he just stared blankly at me.

What is a Save The Date?

I explained the importance of informing our families and friends of our wedding date so people could plan to attend our wedding.

But then it got me worried…because I thought everyone knew what a save the date was.

Was there more wedding lingo or traditions that J. Alabama had never heard of?

I panicked and quickly drove myself to Barnes & Nobles and parked myself in front of the wedding books for roughly 3 hours.

I began to peruse through wedding book after wedding book to find an informative book I could give him that explained all things weddings.

Something like a wedding handbook geared for the groom.

I narrowed it down to the one that had the funniest way of relating to a man. As well seemed the easiest to read.

So I ended up with what I thought was a great choice and happily gave it to J. Alabama in hopes he would read it.

But I never really heard about the book again until…

Well long story short, J. Alabama’s roommate proposed to his girlfriend a few weeks ago (she said yes).

And I heard his roommate joke to J. Alabama, “Well my fiance’ did not buy me the Idiots Guide to being a Groom, but if I need any pointers I will just borrow the book that Linzi bought you”.

They laughed about it.

And immediately realized what I had I done. I totally bought J. Alabama The Idiots Guide on How to be a Groom.

At the time in which I purchased it, the thought of the title didn’t even cross my mind.

EVERYONE knows that the Idiots Guide series are amazingly informative.

And I really had paid more attention to the content of the books I was purchasing. The thought of the title completely escaped my mind.

But when J. Alabama brought it up again at our Anniversary dinner last tuesday in a joking manner, I realized he wasn’t completely joking. I had actually made him feel bad.

I honestly explained that I had no intention of making him feel bad, and in no way do I think he is an idiot or does he not know how to be a groom.

I picked that  book because it had the best information in it. And it was really funny.

In the end, we had a good laugh over it. And well, I’m just going to suck it up and put this one under the “What NOT To Do when planning a wedding” category.

It was a complete and utter #fiancefail, thankfully he forgave me and it’s something we can laugh about now.

***

Happy Wedding Wednesday Friends!

8 thoughts on “#FianceFail

  1. thats a great story! hahhaha

    u had the right intentions. u just wanted to help. thats awesome tho. i will totally need to buy rob one of those hheheh

    another great post on a Wednesday. What am i gonna read on my wednesdays, after u get married. you will have to start a Marriege Mondays or Wifey Wednesdays!

  2. I like that…wifey Wednesdays…I’m sure there will be a lot to discuss ‘after’ the wedding!

    Linzi, if this is the worst you’ve done in your wedding planning, you’re doing GREAT! This is something you guys will get to share forever; you meant it in a good way, that’s what is so cute about it!

  3. Sorry … I just find that hilarious. I think it will be a great story you can share with your kids one day. Though I’m sure it was done with the absolute greatest intentions, and you have a great heart. Yup, file that one accordingly. Certainly not the worst thing you could have done.

    To be fair to your fiance, the save the date thing IS relatively new and it wouldn’t surprise me at all if alot of men didn’t have a clue what it is.

  4. I’m sure I’ve had plenty of those moments while Mark and I have been engaged. But you had the best of intentions… plus, you both talked about it. I think the whole scenario will make for a great story later on. 🙂

  5. Great story. I bet you wondered why he never brought the book up again 🙂

    Here in Holland we don’t have save the date when you wed. You just send out invitations for the wedding about 6 weeks before. I haven’t heard of this before until I read it on your blog 🙂

  6. Ha ha. I always buy those books! The thought wouldn’t have even crossed my mind that it would be insulting.

    When I first read this title, I thought it would be about J Alabama’s fail – since it said fiance. I think female is fiancee?

  7. Pingback: Our Wedding Night « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

