DIY: Awesome Wedding Sign

 

This post is part of an ongoing Wedding Wednesday Series. My chance to ramble on about non-running, wedding related stuff.

***

Today’s Wedding Wednesday is a FUN & easy one! 🙂 And for a Do-It-Yourself project, that is the way I like it.

So I present to you the Awesome Wedding Sign.

I keep seeing these decorative signs in all the wedding blogs, informing their guests that they have arrived at the correct destination. Because the venue for my wedding is sort of a newer venue. I don’t want to risk my guests driving right on by it, so it gave me a great excuse to make this Awesome Sign.

What you will Need:

  • scrap wood (pieces depend upon how many slats you want)
  • nails
  • paint (in your desired colors)
  • paint brushes
  • And awesome helpers (like your grandparents!)

I called my grampa ahead of time asked him to put together this wooden sign out of scrap wood. He was so excited to help, and I believe nailing the wood slats together was a fairly easy process. He even did a white wash coat on the wood, to give it a sort of antique effect. He done good!

He was so excited to show off the sign when I arrived. Thanks Grampa!!

The fun part is really just deciding what wording you want on the sign itself.

As you can see, I even got my grama involved in the painting process.

The way I see it, the more people that put their love and energy into my wedding, the more love I am surrounded with. I truly believe their positive and loving energy will be with me throughout my marriage.

Also, it was just fun to spend time with them and get silly with the painting. Grampa had fun snapping photos of Grama and I hard at work.

Well friends… here is the final product.

The Team Awesome Wedding… I don’t think it could be any more perfect.

And the coolest part, is we can keep this sign after the wedding as a keepsake. Put it in the garden, or something. 🙂

***

Happy Wedding Wednesday Friends! Team Awesome will become official in t-minus 80 days!

10 thoughts on “DIY: Awesome Wedding Sign

  1. Linzi,
    i remembered you did this and totally want to do it. I want to use it as part of my save the date and then at the wedding venue!

    what a great idea!

Leave a Reply

