Running Naked

Okay just to be clear, I did not run entirely naked.

But I thought this title sounded way better than “The Race For the Cure 5K Recap”.  Don’t you think?

So if you remember back to a few weeks ago when I met Christopher McDougall, the author of Born To Run – I threw in a little claim about me running The Race for the Cure naked. Naked in the sense of no garmin, no ipod, and a little addition of no shoes.

100_5465

Okay, so I rocked the Vibrams. But still, I consider that a pretty darn naked run.

***

This particular race holds a very special place in my heart for me. Exactly two years ago, I ran this same race as my very first 5k.

Crossing that finish line for the very first time was one of the most amazing feelings in the world. That race two years ago seriously sparked the fire inside of me to keep on running. So I was pretty excited to be taking part in this race yet again.

A little blast from the past… May 2009

Before the race, I met up with my Team. Which included a few people from my church, a few people I have never met, and my bloggy friend Meg!

100_5464

Anyways, I set out to run this race with the utmost of mindfulness. Mindful of my body, mindful of my surroundings, and mindful of my breathing. So that was the goal anyway. Run mindfully naked.

The race started out as complete cluster, which I anticipated from year’s past. But being short has it’s advantages to weaving through people quickly.

100_5477

I listened as my vibrams pitter-pattered the ground beneath me as ran.

I watched all the fans lined up on both sides of the streets decked out their breast cancer pink shirts, and cheering on all the runners.

100_5489

There was a false start at the beginning of the race, and we had to crowd hundreds of people backwards through the start line. It was quite funny.

Then the race started FOR REAL and we off!

I ran through miles 1 with no problems. Around mile 2 my stomach felt like there was a brick in it, and I was breathing really really hard.

I had no idea of my pace, but honestly I felt like I was running slower than usual. I really didn’t want to stop until I hit the finish line. So I kept on trucking.

Since I’m also still getting used to running in vibrams (this was my first race in them),  catching my rhythm seemed a bit more difficult at times than in regular running shoes.

100_5485

Between mile 2 and 3 I started to feel a little cramp in the arch of my foot. This was definitely a Vibram related issue. It wasn’t hurting too bad, but if I hadn’t been so close to the finish, I probably would have stopped to walk it off.

I rounded the last corner of the race, and could finally see the finish line ahead. I happen to glance up at the time clock and noticed it was in the 28:00’s.

WTF?! Seriously?!

Something clicked, and my legs moved faster than I think they ever had. I wanted to cross that finish line under 29 minutes.

222670_10150170669815216_717790215_7299066_8126108_n

I felt like I was flying through the air. I had no concept of anything going on around me. I saw the finish line and I put into full speed.

I crossed that finish line at 28:59!  A new personal record 5k record. I beat my previous 5k record by 40 seconds (29:39)!

As soon as I made it through the hustle bustle, I knew I had pushed it. I felt high on life, and like I wanted to puke. It was an interesting combination of feelings. 🙂

I met back up with Meg as she crossed the finish line. YAY, it was a great race for everyone!

100_5493

I also found J. Alabama and he couldn’t stopping grinning over how proud of me he was. He has been to almost every race, and knew running under 10 minute miles (for a 5k)  was a HUGE milestone for me.

Oh yeah, and then we found some friends who were also rocking the Vibrams, and had to take a picture.

100_5492

I’m not sure if running without gadgets and gizmos helped me to focus more on my running. Or if running in Vibrams helped put a little pep in my step.

All I know is that this is the second time I have run this race without a garmin or ipod and I have pleasantly surprised myself.

I can’t say that I will give up wearing Garmina, I love her way too much. It’s just nice to leave it at home for a race and just see what my body does.

Apparently it does just fine! 🙂

***

I challenge all you runners out there to go on a “naked” run this week. See how you feel without your garmin & ipod.

Let me know how it goes. I would love to do a collaborative post with all your photos and comments!

Email me at destination26.2 at gmail dot com by Sunday evening May 15th and I will feature you in a post next week!

Happy Running!! 🙂

25 thoughts on “Running Naked

  1. ill go naked!!! hahah

    good job on ur race. that is wonderfull. I guess it must be the vibrams and the fact that u r just a speed machine! great work. im so proud of u! keep it up!

  2. This is the second post I’ve read this morning with a Garmin-free race for a PR! Interesting. 🙂

    HUGE congratulations on your first “naked” race and the big PR!

  3. Congrats on your new PR! Fantastic time!

    I do think running without a Garmin takes the pressure off and you just run at what feels good for you.

    I can understand that J. Alabama is proud of you, I am too.

    And you’ve come a long way Linzi, seeing the pic from 2 years ago.

  4. WOOOHOOOO Awesome! So happy you were able to keep your time just under that 29 min mark. I’ve had quite a few races ending in a :59. Somehow it just feels awesome.

    I think for some people, gadgets do slow them down. Sometimes people check their gadgets and get worried that they’re running too fast, so slow down. Don’t get me wrong, I love my Garmin, but you do have to learn to trust in your body and know what limits you can push to.

    CONGRATS!

  5. Congrat’s on your PR! Can we say, flying like the wind!! Wahoo!

    Hmm running naked, I’ll give it a try but when I do that the same song usually rotates in my head. It’s actually pretty funn lol

  6. Holy shit – I would have died to see that awesome time if it were me!! Way to run naked – I think I’ll try that next time I run outside.

    Great job!!!

  7. Awesome job with the PR!!! Vibrams intrigue me sooo much but I’m scared I’ll hurt myself. I’ve been trying to run differently in my current sneakers (no heel strike) and it’s HARD!

  8. Wow! Congrats on your awesome PR and naked run! 🙂

    I love your shirt – where is it from?

    And what was up with the false start? That does sound funny 🙂

  9. Sweet run! This Sunday is MARATHON Sunday, so it’s probably not a good time to to give up the Gar, but maybe the next race! There’s actually a “predict your time 5K” in my area where winners aren’t based on total time but on how accurately you can predict your race time. Sans gadgets.

  10. Congrats on the new PR! And you did it in your Vibrams! That’s so awesome! I run much slower in mine.

    I have a 1-mile race on Thursday evening where no iPods are allowed. But, I will have my Garmin with me to check on my time at the quarter-mile splits.

  11. Pingback: Lunch Time Running Adventures « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  12. Awesome post! I’ve been thinking about doing something similar as I would like to lighten up my load when I’m running. I never wear a Garmin during races (I like to surprise myself) but I definitely would like to ditch the iphone, and give the vibrams a whirl. I’m not sure how they would hold up during longer distances, but for 5 and 10ks I would be willing to invest in a pair. Btw, love your pink ones!

  13. Pingback: My 27th Year « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  14. Pingback: Junerific! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

  15. Congrats on your PR. I ran my 2nd half marathon without my Garmin and iPod and ran iy 6 min faster than my first.

  16. Pingback: Sweating it up in Mexico « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

