Lunch Time Running Adventures

 

Lizards and Snakes and Falling RocksOH MY!

I finally got my act together this week, and packed a bag full of gear to get me through a lunch time run.

I work less than 10 minutes from the glorious Boise foothills, and there is NO reason I am not taking more advantage of them. So I made it happen.

I threw on my running gear and made way toward the hills.

About 15 minutes into my run, I saw a trail that begged to be taken. Ahh, lunch time trail running! 🙂

I followed the trail and breathed in the sweet outdoors. It was perfect. Well perfect until this happened.

Yes, I was just a few steps away from stepping on this freaky snake!

He was slithering and sticking his tongue out at me. I’m sure he wasn’t super stoked I was trying to get his picture. I tried to stay calm and remember that this lunch time run was supposed to be fun.

The snake  finally slithered away and before I could begin running again I looked over and saw this little guy.

Now he made me happy. I was loving the nature around me and loving that I was running in it on my lunch break! So fabulous!

I continued on the trail and saw a sign for Falling Rocks. I wasn’t too scared about rocks, but I will admit the snake still had me a bit on edge though.

I continued on the trail until my garmin hit 25 minutes. My plan was an out and back kind of run. I was so sad to turn around. I really wanted to explore this path more.

It was so pretty outside and refreshing running on these trails.

I promise I’m not crying because I just saw a snake, my eyes were burning from the sweat getting in them. I usually wear a hat, but didn’t think to bring one when I packed my running gear. Lesson learned.

I am hoping to make this lunch time trail run a weekly phenomenon. Baby steps people.

I have no problem with the act of running on my lunch break, or being a bit sweaty at work afterwards.

It  just takes a lot of work to think ahead and pack running clothes, make-up, a lunch, and all the other stuff that goes along with running on your lunch break and getting back to work and freshening up in an hour.

There is no shower at my work, so you gotta get creative! 🙂

Happy Running Friends!

Remember — If you have any “Running Naked” stories from this past week, be sure to send them my way at destination26.2 {at}  gmail dot com to be featured next week!

12 thoughts on “Lunch Time Running Adventures

  1. That is one reason I am leery of running alone outside this time of year…snakes. I am terrified! I’m sure they won’t “get” me BUT what happens if I am not watching where I am going and tromp down on one…it bites my ankle?? yikes. LOL
    Looks like a beautiful place to run! Good for you for fitting it in!

    And thank you for always commenting on my blog. I still can’t figure out how to reply back on WordPress but am working on that! 🙂

  2. Running on the lunch hour is great as long as it doesn’t interfere with lunching with your best girl friends. I think we are supposed to have an Asiagos date soon? I miss ya and I’m glad you didn’t get too close to that scary snake.

    We’re going to come to J. Alabama’s party on Saturday. We’ll probably be a little late though. Talk to ya soon.

  3. oh icky, icky, ick snake. I can’t stand snakes and seeing one like that would probably keep me off that trail for a long, long time. I’m such a wimp – hahhaa.

    But YAY for lunch time running. Such a nice way to squeeze in your daily exercise. I don’t usually take an official lunch break anymore. But when I did, I loved to get out for some activity.

  4. hey hey! i am jealous of ur beautiful trails. u have so many fun runs.

    soooo, i meant to do my naked run yesterday after work, but was unable to due to a blister on my foot. and normally i would just suck it up and run, but with a half marathon coming up this weekend, i do not want to take a chance to aggrevate it. im sorry.
    i will run naked for u another time….ahhdhhahhahaha i meant that in the most non creepy way!

    pls run this ‘naked run’ again! thnx

  5. Ugh… I hate snakes! I probably would have run the other direction, terrified. Lizards, on the other hand, really are cool. I think the last time I saw one was at the zoo.

  6. I have to admit that I’ve never seen a snake besides in the zoo but I don’t like them. I’m glad we don’t have much snakes here in Holland, we do have them but fortunately they never crossed my path 🙂

    We do have a shower at work but I’ve never ran during lunchtime.

  7. Oh my gosh so creepy! I’ve been walking on my lunch break and now that I’m doing that I wonder why I never went running before during lunch! I’m starting to run again so I’m probably going to take advantage soon, hopefully sans snakes 😀

Leave a Reply

