Superhero 5k

I like to think that our Superhero 5k run on Saturday evening saved the world.

100_5560

J. Alabama’s roommate was moving away so we decided to throw him the BEST going away party ever!

I don’t think any going away party is complete until you have people running around in spandex and neon colors dressed like superheroes.

Am I right?

240645_10150183209655216_717790215_7398958_4386878_o (2)

100_5578

100_5546100_5548

This was probably the most dressed up I have ever been for a run, and let me tell you it was a blast running through the town all decked out.

100_5557100_5558

The pictures above are J. Alabama & his roomie who is leaving. They were showing off their superhero muscles. LOL!

Before we headed off onto the run we gathered for an EPIC SUPERHERO group pic.

100_5561

And then like superheroes fighting crime, we were off to save the world, one mile at a time!

100_5562

100_5564

100_5565

I forgot to mention that I had already ran 7.75 miles earlier in the day (I opted to split my 11 mile long run into two smaller runs).

100_5567

But let me tell you, my legs were tired this second time around. I had to give it my all to keep up with the pack.

You’d think the cape would have made run faster right?!

100_5568

It was fun running through the grass in my vibrams!

We finally made it to the finish line to find out that J. Alabama had added a little twist to the Superhero 5k.

100_5569

It involved us not being officially “finished” until we shot gunned an icy cold beer.

100_5571

100_5572

Ugghh! He had to show me how.

That’s what I call a #Sororitygirlfail! Seriously, shouldn’t I have learned that in college?

100_5554

What a going away party! I absolutely loved the fact that a bunch of people ran through town dressed up like Superheroes. So fun!

100_5553 

Have you ever  dressed up for a race?

I’ve always wanted to, but I worry too much about chaffing issues and the distraction of it all. So at least now I can officially say I have!

Happy Tuesday friends! And you are welcome, you know… for us all saving the world on Saturday! 🙂

***

Running Naked Reports:

*Mark from Wait…You Run? Here is his TC 1 mile naked race report

* Richelle from Running Toward a Higher CallingHere is her Medtronic TC 1 naked mile report

10 thoughts on “Superhero 5k

  1. I’ve been creeper-rific for a long time now, but I had to break my silence to comment on this blog!
    First, because I can’t believe you didn’t know how to shotgun a beer. #supersororitygirlfail, my sister.
    Second, There’s an actual group of “superheroes” in downtown Salt Lake City fighting crime and helping the homeless.
    Third, since I hadn’t said it yet, Congrats on the engagement, you two make an awesome couple. Miss you 🙂

  2. So wait, was this an “official” 5k or was this just your friends and you running a 5k through town? If it’s the latter, that is A.W.E.S.O.M.E. That is the best going away party EVER. I love the costumes, the neon, the spandes, and the crepe paper finish line tape!!

    I have never really dressed up for a run, like in a costume. For the Race for the Cure each year, I always deck myself out in hot pink and black and don my pink ribbon knee socks, but that’s about as crazy as I have gotten. There is a run in Charlotte, NC called The Night of the Ninja 5k. You are supposed to dress up like and ninja and it is a late evening 5k through downtown sponsored by some brewery. Imagine that, several hundred “ninjas” taking over downtown Charlotte! Ha!

    On a side note, I love how your VFF’s match your ensemble! Well done!

  3. I love running in costume! I’ve got a few more ideas up my sleeve for races this summer. 🙂

    Your superhero 5K looks like it was a blast! Hmmm… I’ll have to organize a fun run with my friends sometime. 🙂

  4. Oh Linzi what a great idea and so much fun. You and your friends sure know how to party, you always do such fun things. I can’t wait to hear what they have planned for your and J. Alabama’s bachelor parties 🙂

    I have never dressed up for a run. Have to say that it’s not very common here too. I did saw some people at my half on Eastern Monday dressed as Eastern bunnies and we do have a few Santa races in December where people dress up as Santa.

  5. Oh my gosh. You are too cute! I love this post. What a fun idea. And I love that expression on your face when J. Alabama is explaining the beer. Ha ha ha.

  6. Pingback: Junerific! « beyond DESTINATION 26.2

Leave a Reply

